如何注册波士顿公立学校 (BPS)

 

波士顿公立学校 (BPS) 指在波士顿市的免费公立学区内的所有学校。波士顿约有 73% 的学龄儿童入读 BPS 学校。波士顿市内的 BPS 学校数量超过 125 所。BPS 学校为 K0 至 K2 年级(年龄 3 至 5 岁)至 12 年级及以上的学生提供教育服务。

波士顿公立学校列表

BPS 注册时间表和清单

BPS 学校注册时间非常早。优先注册期限为你的孩子入学当年的一月份到三月份。例如,如果你的孩子将于 2020 年 9 月入读 K2 年级,则必须在 2020 年 1 月给孩子注册入学。

Boston School Finder 强烈建议针对你的孩子所入读的年级在优先注册周期内进行注册,因为这样能够为你获得所要的 BPS 学校中名额的最佳机会。

如果你考虑孩子报名入读 BPS 学校,以下为申请 2020-2021 学年波士顿公立学校的相关步骤,以及何时需要完成这些步骤。
 

2019 年 11 月

  • 了解 BPS 如何将学生分配至其学校。无法保证你的孩子入读“邻里”学校。BPS 使用的是 基于家庭分配政策 (HBAP),其旨在将家校距离、学校质量和兄弟姐妹偏好等因素纳入孩子择校选项中。 

  • DiscoverBPS.org 获得适用的 BPS 学校选项列表。 

  • 如需了解列表上每个学校的更多信息,请使用 Boston School Finder Tool 查看列表中每个学校详细的 School Profile(学校基本资料)页面。

  • Visit schools during their BPS School Preview Days in November, December, and January.
     

2019 年 12 月

  • 通过波士顿在线学校注册系统进行预注册。. 如果你提前完成,这将能够使在 Welcome Center(欢迎中心)预约的注册时间更早。 

  • 预约参观 BPS 欢迎中心,这样你就不必在高峰注册时间排队等候。

  • BPS 要求学生家庭提供身份证明*、波士顿居留权*,以及用于孩子注册入学的免疫接种记录。父母/监护人必须将下述每个材料带到 BPS 欢迎中心预约点:

    1. 父母/监护人照片 ID
    2. 孩子出生证明原件(或,如有必要,带上护照或 I-94 入境卡)
    3. 孩子最新的免疫接种记录(这是用来注册入学的 州/省所必需的免疫列表。)
    4. 两 (2) 份波士顿居留权证明
    5. If a medical accommodation is required or your child has a disability, documentation must also be provided.

      *Boston Public Schools is proud to offer education to all students regardless of their immigration status. Boston has over 3,000 homeless students and is required by law to provide school assignment and transportation to such students regardless of where they are temporarily residing. Your BPS school choice list will not be based on address. Some documentation rules will be relaxed. Call BPS at 617-635-9000 to find out how to register and enroll your child if you or your child do not have a permanent address and/or are undocumented.
       

2020 年 1 月

  • 就读年级的学生的优先权注册 K0、K1、6、7 和 9 从 2020 年 1 月 6 日开始,将于 2020 年 1 月 31 日结束。

  • 在此期间,访问 BPS 欢迎中心以完成注册文件和个人的居留权验证。
     

2020 年 2 月

  • 进入所有其他年级 的学生优先注册 从 2020 年 2 月 10 日开始,将于 2020 年 4 月 3 日结束。

  • 在此期间,访问 BPS 欢迎中心以完成注册文件和个人的居留权验证。
     

2020 年 3 月至 5 月

  • 学校分配情况将邮寄到你为孩子注册入读而填写的家庭住址。

  • 注意:如果你在注册后搬家,则家庭住址的变更将会影响你的学校和交通服务的选项。请访问 BPS 网站了解更多关于地址变更的信息。
     

BPS 学校类型和计划

借助于 20 多个年级配置,波士顿 125 多个公立学校中有许多不同类型的学校可以满足各种学生的需求。以下是关于 BPS 中一些不同类型的学校和计划的信息。
 

对于小学和初中学生

K0 和 K1 年级

BPS 会根据以下公式为 3 岁和 4 岁的孩子提供学校名额(虽然较少,但会逐渐增多): 

如果你的孩子在上学那一年的 9 月 1 日时为 _____ 岁,那么就有资格读 ____ 年级。

  • 3 岁 = K0 年级

  • 4 岁 = K1 年级

  • 5 岁 = K2 年级
     

Advanced Work Class (AWC) 和 Excellence For All (EFA)

Advanced Work Class (AWC) 和 Excellence for All (EFA) 是适用于 4-6 年级学生的所选 BPS 学校的两个课程计划选项。单击此处以了解更多关于参与 BPS 的 AWC 课程计划和 EFA 学校的内容。

  • Advanced Work Class (AWC) 是波士顿公立学校中的全日制课程计划,其旨在为 4-6 年级的学生提供进度加速的学术课程。与传统课程相比,该课程计划包含更深入的学习科目、更多的功课,以及更繁重的家庭作业。根据 3、4 和 5 年级秋季给出的 Terra Nova 测试成绩邀请学生参加。
  • Excellence For All (EFA) is an initiative designed to ensure all learners in grades 4- 6 have access to high quality, authentic learning experiences that prepare them for high school, college, and careers. EFA is a school-wide program. All students in grades 4-6 at a school that offers EFA participate in the program. There is no admission requirement for Excellence For All. 
     

初中桥梁课程

对于通识教育课程计划中的学生,每一所 BPS 小学都将与初中或 K-8 学校挂钩。这就是所谓的“桥梁课程”学校。加入与“桥梁课程”学校挂钩的小学 5 年级学生将于 1 月份收到邮寄的信件,信件中会列出针对第二年(6 年级)的“桥梁课程”学校。 

我们欢迎学生家庭能够接受和为孩子报名就读所分配的“桥梁课程”学校。学生家庭亦可拒绝并选择满足他们需求的其他学校。如果你想要孩子进入其他学校,而不是他们所分配的“桥梁课程”学校,学生家庭必须前往欢迎中心并加入注册流程以选择新的 BPS 学校。


 

对于高中学生

考试学校 (Exam School)

波士顿有三所 "Exam School",这三所学校招收 7 – 12 年级的学生。这些学校根据平均学分绩点和独立入学测验 (ISEE)(一个全国性标准考试)的测试成绩录取学生。可通过 Exam School 资源指南了解更多关于波士顿的 Exam School 信息。 

需要特殊入学或其他申请要求的高中

有 33 个 BPS 高中选项。这些高中选项中,有六所需要其他的入学要求。这些其他要求可能包括对其他材料如论文、教师推荐信或完成面试所需的单独和额外的申请。

为了能够被这些特殊录取的学校的任何一所考虑招收,必须按照优先顺序将这些学校进行排名,并且学生必须完成每个学校所指定的任何其他申请要求。由于特殊录取和其他申请需求可能因学校而异,因此请访问以下每个学校的 School Profile(学校基本资料):

针对所有年级

Innovation School(创新学校)

Innovation School 在课程、预算、时间表和日历、人员配备、专业发展以及地区政策方面具有更大的自主权和灵活性。Innovation School 为本地学校委员会和校长、教师工会、学生父母、外部合作伙伴等之间的合作提供校内特许机会。

波士顿有五所 Innovation School。要查看 BPS Innovation School 的列表,请单击此处并从 School Type(学校类型)字段中选择 "Innovation",然后点击 "Submit"。

Pilot School(试点学校)

试点学校在招聘、预算和课程方面具有较强的灵活性。试点学校涵盖多个年级,包括小学、初中和高中。波士顿有 20 所试点学校。要查看 BPS 试点学校的列表,请单击此处并从 School Type(学校类型)字段中选择 "Pilot"(试点),然后点击 "Submit"(提交)。

Horace Mann 特许学校

波士顿有六所 Horace Mann 特许学校,都是 BPS 学校,可以免费入学。Horace Mann 特许学校也称为“区内”特许学校。 

重要说明:Horace Mann 特许学校与联邦特许学校不同,后者不属于 BPS 学校。

Horace Mann 特许学校涵盖多个年级,包括小学、初中和高中。Horace Mann 特许学校通过公开抽签的形式进行招生。这六所 Horace Mann 学校都有各自的报名流程和抽签规则。

要查看这六所 Horace Mann 特许学校各自单独的报名信息,请访问每所学校的 Boston School Finder 学校简介或学校网站:

Turnaround School(薄弱学校)

Turnaround School(薄弱学校)指由州立学校问责系统确定为“表现欠佳”、“长期表现欠佳”和“需要重点/针对性支持”的三类学校。

表现欠佳的学校指马萨诸塞州内表现最差的学校。学校的表现基于学校过去四年在绝对成就、学生成长和学业进步等方面的发展趋势分析得出。根据法律规定,被归类为“表现欠佳”的学校必须在整整三个学年内加速实施“整顿”过程,以实现快速且可持续的发展。 

被归类为需要马萨诸塞州问责系统提供重点/针对性支持的学校指那些尚未被确定为"表现欠佳"或"长期表现欠佳"的学校。但是,这些学校在全州范围内的表现排名位于最后那百分之 10,有多个小组的表现欠佳,高中毕业率低于 67%,而且参与率较低。 

根据教育部的援助策略,所有被归类为“需要重点/针对性支持”的学校都必须制定整顿计划并严格实施。 

  • 以下是 The Boston Globe(波士顿环球报) 列出的最新的需要重点/针对性支持的学校列表,这些学校需要马萨诸塞州的针对性协助。

有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

How to Register for Boston Public Schools (BPS)

 

Boston Public Schools (BPS) is the free public school district for the city of Boston. Approximately 73 percent of Boston’s school-aged children are enrolled at a BPS school. There are more than 125 BPS schools in Boston. BPS schools serve students in grades K0 to K2 (ages 3 to 5 years old) through 12th grade and beyond.

List of Public Schools in Boston

BPS Registration Timeline & Checklist

Registration for BPS schools starts very early. The priority registration period is January through March in the same year that your child will enter school. For example, if your child will enter grade K2 in September 2020, you must register your child for school in January 2020.

Boston School Finder strongly encourages registering during priority round registration for the grade your child will enter, because this gives you the best chance to get a seat in a BPS school you want.

If you are considering enrolling your child in a BPS school, Here are the steps to apply for Boston Public Schools for the 2020-2021 school year and when you need to complete these steps.
 

November 2019

  • Understand how BPS assigns students to its schools. Your child is not guaranteed a “neighborhood” school. BPS uses a Home-Based Assignment Policy (HBAP) that factors distance from the school, school quality, and sibling preference into the school options available to your child. 

  • Get your list of your available BPS school options from DiscoverBPS.org

  • Learn more about each school on your list by using our Boston School Finder Tool to view detailed School Profile pages for each BPS school on your list.

  • Visit schools during their BPS School Preview Days in November, December, and January.
     

December 2019

  • Pre-register for Boston’s online school registration system. This will make registration easier at your Welcome Center appointment if you complete this ahead of time. 

  • Make an appointment at a BPS Welcome Center so you don’t have to wait in line during peak registration times.

  • BPS requires families to provide proof of identity*, Boston residency*, and immunization records to register their children for school. Parents/guardians must bring EACH of the following documents to their BPS Welcome Center appointment:

    1. Parent/guardian picture ID
    2. Your child's original birth certificate (or, if necessary, passport or I-94)
    3. Your child's most up-to-date immunization record (Here is a list of immunizations required by the state to register for school.)
    4. Two (2) proofs of Boston residency
    5. If a medical accommodation is required or your child has a disability, documentation must also be provided.

      *Boston Public Schools is proud to offer education to all students regardless of their immigration status. Boston has over 3,000 homeless students and is required by law to provide school assignment and transportation to such students regardless of where they are temporarily residing. Your BPS school choice list will not be based on address. Some documentation rules will be relaxed. Call BPS at 617-635-9000 to find out how to register and enroll your child if you or your child do not have a permanent address and/or are undocumented.
       

January 2020

  • Priority registration for students entering grades K0, K1, 6, 7, and 9 begins on January 6, 2020 and closes January 31, 2020.

  • Visit a BPS Welcome Center to complete your registration paperwork and residency verification in person during this time.
     

February 2020

  • Priority registration for students entering all other grades begins on February 10, 2020 and closes April 3, 2020.

  • Visit a BPS Welcome Center to complete your registration paperwork and residency verification in person during this time.
     

March—May 2020

  • School assignments are mailed to the home address you used to register your child for school.

  • Note: if you have moved after registering, your change of address could affect your school and transportation options. Please visit the BPS website for more information about change of address.
     

Types of BPS Schools & Programs

With more than 20 grade configurations, there are many different types of schools that serve a variety of student needs across Boston’s more than 125 public schools. Below is information about some of the different types of schools and programs available in BPS.
 

For Elementary & Middle School Students

K0 & K1 Grade Levels

BPS offers a small, but growing number of school seats for children ages 3 and 4, according to the formula below: 

If your child will be age _____ by September 1 of the year they are supposed to start school, they are eligible to enter into grade ____.

  • Age 3 = Grade K0

  • Age 4 = Grade K1

  • Age 5 = Grade K2
     

Advanced Work Class (AWC) & Excellence For All (EFA)

Advanced Work Class (AWC) and Excellence for All (EFA) are two program options available at select BPS schools for students in grades 4-6. Click here to learn more about participating AWC programs and EFA schools from BPS.

  • Advanced Work Class (AWC) is a full-time program in the Boston Public Schools that provides an accelerated academic curriculum for students in grades 4-6. This program includes subjects studied in greater depth, more schoolwork, and more home study than the traditional curriculum. Students are invited to participate based on their Terra Nova test scores, given in the fall of grades 3, 4, and 5.
  • Excellence For All (EFA) is an initiative designed to ensure all learners in grades 4- 6 have access to high quality, authentic learning experiences that prepare them for high school, college, and careers. EFA is a school-wide program. All students in grades 4-6 at a school that offers EFA participate in the program. There is no admission requirement for Excellence For All. 
     

Middle School Pathways

For students in general education programs, every BPS elementary school is connected to a middle school or K-8 school. This is called a “pathway” school. Students in 5th grade who attend schools connected to a Pathway school will receive a letter in the mail in January that lists their Pathway school for the following (6th grade) year. 

Families are welcome to accept and enroll their child at their assigned Pathway school. Families may also decline and choose another school that meets their needs. If you want your child to attend a different school instead of their assigned Pathway school, families must go to a Welcome Center and participate in the registration process to select a new BPS school.


 

For High School Students

Exam Schools

Boston has three “exam schools” which serve students in grades 7–12. Admission to these schools is based on grade point average and test scores on the Independent School Entrance Exam (ISEE), a national standardized test. Learn more about Boston’s Exam Schools at our Exam School resource guide

High Schools that Require Special Admissions or Additional Application Requirements

There are 33 BPS high school options. Six of these high school options have additional requirements for admission. These additional requirements can include a separate, extra application to other materials such as essays, teacher recommendations, or the completion of an audition.

In order to be considered for any of these special admission schools, these schools must be ranked in order of preference AND students must complete whatever additional application requirements are specified by each school. As special admissions and additional application requirements vary by school, please visit the School Profile for each school below:

For ALL Grades

Innovation Schools

An Innovation School has increased autonomy and flexibility in curriculum, budget, schedule and calendar, staffing, professional development, and district policies. Innovation Schools represent a chance for local school committees – in cooperation with superintendents, teachers’ unions, parents, outside partners and others – to internally charter their own schools.

Boston has five Innovation Schools. To view a list of BPS Innovation Schools, click here and select “Innovation” from the School Type field and hit “Submit.”

Pilot Schools

Pilot schools have flexibility around hiring, budget, and curriculum. Pilot schools span a variety of grade configurations through elementary, middle, and high school grades. Boston has 20 pilot schools. To view a list of BPS Pilot Schools, click here and select “Pilot” from the School Type field and hit “Submit.”

Horace Mann Charter Schools

There are six Horace Mann charter schools in Boston that are BPS schools and are free to attend. Horace Mann charter schools are also called “in-district” charter schools. 

Important note: Horace Mann charter schools are separate from Commonwealth charter schools, which are NOT part of the BPS district.

Horace Mann charter schools span a variety of grade configurations through elementary, middle, and high school grades. Admission to Horace Mann charter schools is by an open lottery. Each of the six Horace Mann schools has its own enrollment process and lottery.

To view individual enrollment information about the six Horace Mann charter schools, please visit their Boston School Finder School Profile or school website:

Turnaround Schools

Turnaround schools refer to three groups of schools designated as “Underperforming,” “Chronically Underperforming,” and “Focused/Targeted Support” via the state school accountability system.

Underperforming schools are those most struggling schools in the state of Massachusetts, based on an analysis of four-year trends in absolute achievement, student growth, and academic improvement trends. Schools designated as underperforming are required, by law, to undertake an accelerated “turnaround” process for rapid and sustainable improvement within three full school years. 

Schools categorized as in need of Focused/Targeted Support on Massachusetts' accountability system are those not already designated as "underperforming" or "chronically underperforming" that are in the lowest 10th percentile of schools in performance across the state, those with low-performing subgroups, high schools with a graduation rate below 67%, and schools with low participation rates. 

According to the Department's assistance strategy, all schools designated as Focused/Targeted Support must develop and implement a turnaround plan. 

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school