关键术语和定义

 

在搜索学校时,您可能会遇到许多缩写词和术语。下面,我们将提供一些简单的定义帮助解释这些术语。

大学

  • 先修课程 (AP):一些高中提供的大学课程。如果学生在一学年结束后通过先修课程考试,可以获得该学科相应的大学学分。

  • 出勤率:平均每天到校学生的百分比。

  • 周期缺勤率:一所学校中一年中缺勤至少 15 天的学生百分比。

  • 大学出勤率:高中毕业后参加大学课程的学生百分比。

  • 大学预科:专门为四年大学做准备的学生设计的全日制课程或学术项目。

  • DESE(中小学教育部):马萨诸塞州中小学教育部负责马萨诸塞州所有中小学的公共教育。

  • 双学籍:允许学生参加大学课程的项目或课程,大学课程会计入其高中学分和大学学分。

  • 双语言:以两种语言教授的学术项目,有时称为“双语教育”。

  • 经济弱势:马萨诸塞州用来形容“低收入”学生的术语。包括参加一项或多项州援助项目的所有学生。

  • 作为第二语言的英语教学 (ESL):非英语国家学生的英语课程。

  • 英语语言学习者 (ELL):正在学习英语的学生。ELL 学生通常会接受专业的或经过修改的指导,直到他们掌握英语。

  • 延长教学时间:延长在校时间。

  • 体验式学习:一种教育方式,学生通过亲身体验进行学习,而不是严格地在校针对特定的一些题目去阅读或听讲。

  • 毕业率:4 年或 5 年从高中毕业的高中学生百分比。

  • 包容:一种特殊教育方法,有特殊需求的学生大部分或全部时间都在学校,和没有特殊需求的学生一起 - 所有学生都在一个班级。

  • 国际文凭 (IB):一个强调研究和鼓励学生向同龄人学习的学术项目,经常被认为是发展批判性思维技巧。

  • 个性化教育方案 (IEP):接受特殊教育服务的所有学生都有一个这种方案。个性化教育方案是一个项目的书面介绍,学校将通过这类方案来满足有特殊学习需求的学生的个人需求。

  • 学习适应性行为 (LAB):一个帮助学生,尤其是有特殊需求的学生掌握学校或社会规范的项目。

  • MCAS(马萨诸塞州综合评估系统):马萨诸塞州 3-10 年级的公立学校学生会参加的两项州测试之一,其中包括像数学、英语语言艺术 (ELA) 和科学等单独测试。从 2016-2017 年开始,这项测试和 PARCC 测试成为一种被称为“新一代综合评估考试”(Next Generation MCAS) 的测试,其中包括 MCAS 和 PARCC 测试的问题。

  • SGP(中值学生进步幅度值):学生进步幅度值表示学生在该学校相比州内的其他类似学生,一年内取得的学术进步或成长。SGP 中值 60 或更高分值被认为是“高成长”,SGP 中值 40 或更低分值被认为是“低成长”。

  • 美国幼儿教育协会 (NAEYC):一家认证或认可符合教育、健康和安全标准的早期儿童方案的组织。一个经“NAEYC 认证”的方案已被此组织认证为优质方案。

  • PARCC(大学及就业能力联合测验):2014 年到 2016 年马萨诸塞州大部分学生会参加的两项州测试中的一个,通常是 3-8 年级的学生参加。包括像数学、英语语言艺术 (ELA) 和科学等单独测试。PARCC 用于发展 MCAS 的新形式,即“新一代综合评估考试”(Next Generation MCAS),该测试从 2017 年开始由 3-8 年级的学生参加。

  • 修复式正义:学校的一种纪律方法。在修复式正义中,违反规则或规范的学生将和一组同伴和老师面谈,讨论事件以及如何避免对社区造成损害。

  • SEI(融入英语项目):由经认证的老师用英语教授学习英语 (ELL) 的学生的一种教学方式,必要时用学生母语加以解释,使得教学内容易于理解。在 SEI 课堂中,学生按照母语进行分组,例如,母语为越南语的学生和其他母语为越南语的学生分在一组。

  • SLIFE(受教育程度有限或正规教育中断的学生):学习英语语言且正规教育中断的学生。某些学校会为这些学生提供特殊课程或项目。

  • 特殊教育:教育有特殊教育需求(学习障碍或培养语言技巧)的学生的一种做法,以此来解决他们的个人需求。所有接受特殊教育服务的学生都有一个个性化教育方案 (IEP),其中说明了学校将会提供的服务。

  • SPEDPAC(特殊教育家长咨询委员会):马萨诸塞州法律要求所有公立学校都要设立家长咨询委员会,向所有残疾学生的家长和其他相关方开放。

  • 州级水准:DESE 对马萨诸塞州特定地区和学校的学生的学习成绩进行分类。它帮助州政府决定学校需要什么支持以及如何分配资源。州级水准会综合考虑学业成绩、进步或成长、高中毕业率、长期旷课率和提高班。一些学校可能因为“数据不足”而没有被分类,这意味着参加测验的学生数量不足,无法对学校分类。学校及地区可分为以下五类,从最高级别(最佳)到最低级别排列:

    • 重点学校:这是最高的学术称号。这类学校或地区不需要国家的援助或干预,并凭借出色的学术成就而备受认可。重点学校的特点是高成就、高增长和超越目标。

    • 实现目标:如果学校或地区实现了大多数学生的目标,没有被认定为整体表现不佳、小组表现不佳、毕业率不高或评估参与度不高,则被认定为实现目标。

    • 部分实现目标:如果学校或地区实现了少数学生的目标,没有被认定为整体表现不佳、小组表现不佳、毕业率不高或评估参与度不高,则被认定为部分实现目标。

    • 重点/针对性支持:如果学校或地区在全州范围内排名倒数 10%(根据问责百分比衡量),有一个或多个小组且小组百分比为 5% 或以下,所有学生的毕业率普遍偏低(低于 66.7%),和/或所有学生或一个或多个学科的一个或多个小组的评估参与率普遍偏低(低于 95%),则被认定为需要重点/针对性支持。

    • 广泛/全面支持这是最低的称号。如果某一学校或地区被中小学教育委员会认为表现欠佳或长期表现欠佳,则认为该学校/地区需要广泛/全面的支持。

  • STEAM(科学、技术、工程、艺术和数学): 一些学校会提供侧重这些主题的课程。类似于 STEM,但还侧重于艺术。

  • STEM(科学、技术、工程和数学): 一些学校会提供侧重这些主题的课程。

  • 学生退学率:在一学年结束之后第二学年不来上学的学生百分比。

  • 学生停学率:学校一年内因任何原因停学的学生百分比。

  • 学生/老师比率;每位老师所教学生数:一位老师所教的大概学生数。这并不是教室人数 - 大多数学校的大部分教室学生数要更多。

  • 教师保留率:学校教师从这一年到下一年继续留在同一职位的百分比。

马萨诸塞州特定适用的信息

  • 特许学校 - 联邦:只指“特许学校”。由马萨诸塞州授权的免费学校,以公立资金办校,但不隶属于波士顿的学区。入学安排将通过公开抽签的方式调剂。

波士顿公立学校 (BPS) 特定适用的信息

  • AWC(高级课程班):是波士顿公立学校提供的全日制课程,为 4 到 6 年级的学生提供跳级或高阶的学术课程。学生必须通过 TerraNova 测试(所有学生都可参加)进入 AWC 课程。加入 AWC 的学生将在班级中进行分组。

  • BPS 等级:波士顿公立学校分为 1-4 个等级,其中 1 为最高级,4 为最低级。BPS 等级由学校的测试成绩、学校文化调查结果和其他测量结果决定。

  • 波士顿考试学校:要想进入 Boston Latin School、Boston Latin Academy 和 John D. O'Bryant School 这三所波士顿公立学校,学生必须具备学术资格才能入学。是否能够入学取决于学生在 ISEE(独立学校入学考试)的成绩和表现。我们接收 7 年级和 9 年级的学生。

  • 特许学校-Horace Mann:由波士顿的学校部门,波士顿公立学校监督的免学费公立社区学校,但不是马萨诸塞州授权的。入学安排将通过公开抽签的方式调剂。

  • EFA(全面优秀):波士顿公立学校通常从高级课程班 (AWC) 扩展到严格的课程作业的项目。参加全面优秀项目的在校学生都面临着极具挑战的作业和课程,如 STEM 和世界语言。

  • 延长教学时间 (ELT):超出传统上课时间的任何时间,用于提高学习质量。包括更长的上课时间、课后活动和/或暑期班。

  • K0、K1 和 K2: 由波士顿学校提供的“幼儿园”和“幼儿园前”年级。BPS 学校保证学生可以获得 K2 学位,但 K0 或 K1 则不一定(这些年级的学位是通过抽签来调剂的)。K2 通常被称为“幼儿园”,K0 和 K1 是“幼儿园前”或“Pre-K”。

    • K0 适合新学年 9 月前 3 岁的学生(2019-2020 年,9/1/19 前 3 岁)。

    • K1 适合那些在新学年 9 月将满 4 岁的学生。

    • K2 适合那些在新学年 9 月将满 5 岁的学生。

  • 特殊教育应用行为分析 (ABA):用于改善或改变特定行为的治疗方法。作为一项服务提供,通常面向由 IEP 团队决定患有自闭症谱系障碍的学生。

  • 特殊服务-融合服务:为学生提供的融合式课堂,可能因年龄/年级而异

  • 特殊教育(轻微、中度和严重智力受损):为在认知方面有轻微、中度或严重受限的学生提供的服务。

  • 特殊教育-身体缺陷:为身体行动能力或协调能力受限的学生提供的服务。

  • 特殊教育-实质独立分隔教室:专为有明显学习需求的孩子设置的,不同于普通教育的教室环境。

波士顿特许学校

  • 波士顿特许学校申请:学生可以通过单一的在线申请系统参与所有波士顿特许学校(Bridge Boston 除外)的抽签。
有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

Key Terms and Definitions

 

In searching for a school, you may come across a lot of acronyms and jargon. Below are some simple definitions to help explain these terms.

General

  • Advanced Placement (AP): College-level courses offered by some high schools. Students take an Advanced Placement exam at the end of the year and can earn college credit in that subject.

  • Attendance Rate: The percent of students at a school who are present on an average day.

  • Chronic Absentee Rate: The percent of students at a school that missed at least 15 days of school in one year.

  • College Attendance Rate: The percent of students from a school that enrolled in college courses after graduating from high school.

  • College preparatory: Curriculum or academic program designed specifically to prepare students for a four-year college or university.

  • DESE (Department of Elementary and Secondary Education):The Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education is responsible for public education at the elementary and secondary levels across all of Massachusetts.

  • Dual enrollment: Programs or classes which allow students to take college-level courses that will count both for their high school and college credits.

  • Dual language: Academic programs that are taught in two languages. Sometimes called "bilingual education."

  • Economically disadvantaged: The term that the state of Massachusetts uses for "low-income" students. Includes all students who participate in one or more state assistance programs.

  • English as a Second Language (ESL): English classes for students who are non-native speakers.

  • English Language Learner (ELL): A student who is learning English. ELL students generally receive specialized or modified instruction until they master English.

  • Expanded Learning Time: A longer school day.

  • Experiential learning: A style of education in which students learn through hands-on experience rather than strictly from reading or hearing about topics in school.

  • Graduation Rate: The percent of students from a high school that graduated from school in either 4 or 5 years.

  • Inclusion: An approach to special education in which students with special needs spend most or all of their time in school with students without special needs - all students are in classes together.

  • International Baccalaureate (IB): An academic program which emphasizes research and students learning from their peers; often thought to develop critical thinking skills.

  • Individualized Education Plan (IEP): All students who receive special education services have one of these. An IEP is a written description of the program that a school will use to meet the individual needs of a student with special learning needs.

  • Learning Adaptive Behavior (LAB): A program to help students, especially students with special needs, master school or social norms.

  • MCAS (Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System): One of the two state tests that public school students take in Massachusetts in grades 3-10, including separate tests in Math, English Language Arts (ELA), and Science. Starting in 2016-2017, this and the PARCC test have developed into a test called the “Next Generation MCAS,” which includes questions from both the MCAS and the PARCC tests.

  • SGP (Median Student Growth Percentile): Student Growth Percentile indicates the academic improvement or growth that students in that school made in one year compared to other similar students across the state. A median of SGP of 60 and higher is considered “high growth”; a median SGP of 40 or below is considered “low growth.”

  • National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC): An organization that certifies or accredits early childhood programs that meet education, health, and safety standards. A program that is "NAEYC accredited" has been certified as a quality program by this organization.

  • PARCC (The Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers): One of the two state tests that most students took in Massachusetts from 2014 to 2016, generally taken by students in grades 3-8. Includes separate tests in Math, English Language Arts (ELA), and Science. PARCC was used to develop the new version of the MCAS, the “Next Generation MCAS,” which started in grades 3-8 in 2017.

  • Restorative justice: An approach to discipline in a school. In restorative justice, a student who has violated a rule or norm will meet with a group of their peers and teachers to discuss the incident and how to avoid damaging the community.

  • SEI (Sheltered English Immersion): A style of instruction in which students who are learning English (ELLs) are taught in English by certified teachers, with additional explanation in their native language when needed to make the content understandable. In an SEI class, students are grouped by native language - so, for example, native Vietnamese speakers are in class with other Vietnamese speakers.

  • SLIFE (Students with Limited or Interrupted Formal Education): Students who are English Language Learners (ELLs) and whose formal education has been interrupted. Some schools offer special classes or programs to serve these students.

  • Special Education: The practice of educating students with special educational needs (such as learning disabilities or developing language skills) in a way that addresses their individual needs. All students receiving special education services have an Individualized Education Plan (IEP) indicating the services that their school will provide.

  • SPEDPAC (Special Education Parent Advisory Council): Massachusetts state law requires all public school districts to maintain a Parent Advisory Council open to all parents of students with disabilities, and all other interested parties.

  • State Level: How DESE classifies the academic performance of students in specific districts and schools in Massachusetts. It helps the state decide what support schools need and how to allocate resources. The state level takes into account academic achievement, progress or growth, high school completion, chronic absenteeism and advanced classes. Some schools may not be classified due to “insufficient data”, which means that the number of students tested was not large enough to categorize the school. Schools and districts are classified into the following five categories, from highest designation (best) to lowest:

    • Schools of recognition: This is the highest academic designation. Schools or districts in this category do not require assistance or intervention from the state and are recognized for their academic accomplishments. Schools of recognition are identified for high achievement, high growth, and exceeding targets.

    • Meeting targets: A school or district is identified as meeting targets if they are meeting targets for most students and have not otherwise been identified as having low overall performance, low subgroup performance, low graduation rates, or low assessment participation.

    • Partially meeting targets: A district or school is identified as partially meeting targets if they are meeting targets for fewer of their students and have not otherwise been identified as having low overall performance, low subgroup performance, low graduation rates, or low assessment participation.

    • Focused/targeted support: A school or district is identified as in need of focused/targeted support if it is among the lowest 10 percent of schools statewide, as measured by the accountability percentile; has one or more subgroups with a subgroup percentile of 5 or below; has a low graduation rate for all students (below 66.7 percent); and/or has low assessment participation (below 95 percent) for all students or for one or more subgroups in one or more subjects.

    • Broad/comprehensive support: This is the lowest designation. A school or district is identified as in need of broad/comprehensive support if it is designated underperforming or chronically underperforming by the Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education.

  • STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, and Math): Some schools provide classes or curriculum with a focus on these topics. Similar to STEM, but with an additional focus on the Arts.

  • STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math): Some schools provide classes or curriculum with a focus on these topics.

  • Student Attrition Rate: The percent of students that left a school from the end of one year to the beginning of the next.

  • Student Suspension Rate: The percent of students at a school that were suspended for any reason in one year.

  • Student/Teacher Ratio; students per teacher: An estimated number of students per one teacher. This is not the size of a class - most classes in most schools will have more students than this number.

  • Teacher Retention Rate: The percent of teachers at a school that remain working in the same position from one year to the next.

Specific to Massachusetts

  • Charter School - Commonwealth: Commonly referred to as just “charter schools.” These are tuition-free schools that are authorized by the state of Massachusetts and run with public funds but are not affiliated with a city’s school district. Admission is by an open lottery.

Specific to Boston Public Schools (BPS)

  • AWC (Advanced Work Classes): An accelerated or advanced academic curriculum available in some BPS schools to students in grades 4-6. Students are accepted into AWC classes based on scores on a test called TerraNova (all students take it). Students in AWC are grouped together in classes.

  • BPS Tier: BPS schools are ranked from 1 to 4. 1 is the highest (best) ranking and 4 as the lowest ranking. BPS tiers are determined by a school's test scores, school culture survey results, and other measurements.

  • Boston Exam Schools: The three Boston Public Schools - Boston Latin School, Boston Latin Academy, and the John D. O'Bryant School - that students must be accepted to based on academic qualifications. Acceptance is determined by a student's grades and performance on a test called the ISEE (Independent School Entrance Exam). Students are accepted in grades 7 and 9.

  • Charter School-Horace Mann: Tuition-free public district schools that are overseen by Boston Public Schools, the city’s school department, but are authorized by the state of Massachusetts. Admission is by an open lottery.

  • EFA (Excellence for All): A program within BPS schools that expands access to rigorous coursework, typically from Advanced Work Classes (AWC). Students in schools with Excellence for All have challenging work and classes such as STEM and world languages.

  • Extended Learning Time (ELT): Any time beyond the traditional school day that is used to expand options for quality learning. Can include a longer school day, after-school activities, and/or summer school.

  • K0, K1, and K2: The “kindergarten” and “pre-kindergarten” grades offered by schools in Boston. Students are guaranteed a seat in a BPS school for K2 but not K0 or K1 (seats in these grades are administered on a lottery basis). K2 is commonly called “kindergarten” and K0 and K1 are both “pre-kindergarten” or “Pre-K.”

    • K0 is for students who will be 3 years old by September of the new school year (for 2019-2020, 3 years old by 9/1/19).

    • K1 is for students who will be 4 years old by September of the new school year.

    • K2 is for students who will be 5 years old by September of the new school year.

  • Special Education-Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA): A method of therapy used to improve or change specific behaviors. Available as a service, often for students with an autism spectrum disorder, as determined by IEP team.

  • Special Education-inclusion services: Inclusion classrooms for students - may differ by age/grade level

  • Special Education (Mild/Moderate/Severe Intellectual Impairment): Services to support students with mild, moderate, or severely limited capacity to perform cognitive tasks.

  • Special Education-Physical Impairment: Services to support students who have limited physical capacity to move or coordinate actions.

  • Special Education-Substantially Separate: A classroom environment outside of the general education setting for children with significant learning needs.

Boston Charter Schools

  • Boston Charter School Application: A student can enter the lottery for all Boston Charter Schools (except Bridge Boston) via a single online application system.
Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school