什么是基于家庭的分配政策 (HBAP)?

 

与其他许多城市学区一样,波士顿公立学校 (BPS) 采用基于学校的分配政策(而不是基于地段的政策)来确定学生在哪里上学。你必须要了解的是,在你为孩子注册 BPS 时,我们不能保证他们会进入你所在“地段”的学校。 

HBAP 的采用

目前采用的被称为基于家庭的分配政策 (HBAP) 的系统自 2014-2015 学年开始执行。该系统取代了之前将波士顿分为三个不同区域、被称为 3-Z 的 BPS 分配政策。在旧的 3-Z 区分配模式下,学生只能到他们居住区域的学校上学。 

据 BPS 介绍,HBAP 旨在平衡学生及其家人去学校的路程,同时确保全市所有学生能进入高质量学校。

波士顿公立学校分配政策 3 区制与 HBAP 比较图

图片由波士顿公立学校提供。

 

BPS 如何通过 HBAP 分配学生

学生将通过 BPS 开发的计算机算法分配。 

  1. 为你的孩子注册 BPS 时,该算法会将你的家庭住址和离家最近的学校质量考虑进去。如果你已有兄弟姐妹上学,则你将得到优先权,你的孩子更可能会被安排在其兄弟姐妹就读的学校。 

  2. 学生家长将收到一份每位学生可以入学的学校的“选项包”。 

  3. 学生家长根据偏好对选项包中的学校进行排序。 

  4. 如果某一学校的招生人数少于申请人数,将通过随机抽签决定入学名额。同样,在抽签中,同一家庭的孩子将获得优先安排,但你仍必须按时为每个孩子单独注册。

除非你的孩子有哥哥姐姐在这所学校,否则无法保证你的孩子被安置在希望孩子就读的学校。我们鼓励所有家庭考虑自己可以选择的所有学校,制定自己的“选项包”。单击此处启动我们的 School Finder 工具

 

特殊考虑

特殊教育和英语语言学习者 (EEL)

在某些情况下,如果学生需要特殊教育支持或英语语言学习者 (EEL) 服务,则他们将在一般的抽签程序之外被学区直接安排到提供可以满足这些需求的课程的学校。有关更多信息,请参阅我们的特殊教育英语语言学习者资源指南。

兄弟姐妹优先权

如果你有一个年长的孩子在某所 BPS 学校上学,并希望你年幼的孩子进入同一所学校,则 BPS 将优先考虑。这样,你家里年幼的孩子和年长的孩子被安排在同一所学校的机会将高很多。 

接受名额

注册 BPS、进入特许抽签程序和申请私立学校并不要求你的孩子必须接受任何录取的学校名额。在每个程序中,你都可以接受或者拒绝为你的孩子提供的学校,且无需支付违约金。因此,Boston School Finder 鼓励各个家庭考虑所有可以选择的学校:你可以拒绝所收到的名额,但不能拒绝并未申请的名额。 

有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

What Is the Home-Based Assignment Policy (HBAP)?

 

Boston Public Schools (BPS), like many other urban school districts, uses a school assignment policy—rather than a neighborhood policy—to determine where students will attend school. It is important to understand that when you register your child for BPS they are not necessarily guaranteed to attend a school located in your “neighborhood.” 

The Move to HBAP

The current system, called the Home-Based Assignment Policy (HBAP), has been in effect since the 2014-2015 school year. This system replaced the previous BPS assignment policy known as 3-Z, where the city of Boston was divided into three different zones. In the old 3-Z assignment model, students were only eligible to attend schools in the zone in which they lived. 

According to BPS, HBAP tries to balance how far students and their families must travel to attend school, while trying to ensure all students across the city have access to high quality schools.

Comparison Map of Boston Public Schools Assignment Policies 3 Zone HBAP

Images courtesy of Boston Public Schools.

 

How BPS Assigns Students with HBAP

Students are assigned to schools using a computer algorithm developed by BPS. 

  1. When registering your child for BPS, the algorithm takes into account your home address and the quality of schools closest to your home. If you have a sibling already attending a school, you receive preference and your child has a much higher chance of being placed at the same school as their sibling. 

  2. Families are provided a “choice basket” of schools for each student. 

  3. Families rank their school preferences from within their choice basket. 

  4. If there are not enough seats at a school for every student that wants to attend, admission for those seats is determined by a random lottery. Again, siblings are given preference in that lottery, but you must still register each child separately, and on time.

Unless your child has an older sibling, there are no guarantees that you will be placed at the school you want. We encourage all families to build their own choice baskets that consider all of your school options. Click here to launch our School Finder tool.

 

Special Considerations

Special Education & English Language Learners (ELL)

In some cases, if a student requires Special Education support or English Language Learner (ELL) services, they will be placed by the district directly into a school with programs that can meet those needs, outside of the general lottery process. See our Special Education and English Language Learner resources guides for more information.

Sibling Priority

If you have an older child in a BPS school and wish your younger child to enter that same school, BPS gives preference to siblings. You then have a significantly higher chance that your younger child will be placed in the same school as their older sibling. 

Accepting a Seat

Registering for BPS, entering the charter lottery, and applying to private schools does not require you to take a seat at any accepted school. You are able to accept and decline seats offered to your child in each process, without penalty. For this reason, Boston School Finder encourages families to consider all of your available school options: you can always decline a seat you receive, but you cannot decline a seat you do not have. 

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school