如何申请私立学校

 

什么是私立学校?

私立学校是由个人或私立组织而不是州/省资助的学校。在波士顿,有两种不同类型的私立学校:

私立宗教学校

这些私立学校与特定的宗教信仰有关。除了通识教育外,私立宗教附属学校还可以提供宗教教育课程作为其课程的一部分。但是,学生和家庭并不一定要信仰这种宗教才能进入这些学校。宗教信仰要求因学校而异。 

  • 单击 此处,通过 School Finder Tool 查看宗教相关的私立学校的 School Profile(学校基本资料)。
  • 阅读我们在 2021 年对三位天主教学校负责人的访谈,了解您的天主教学校选择 详情。
     

私立独立学校

这些私立学校没有任何宗教派别或与特定宗教的联系。 

  • 单击 此处,通过 School Finder Tool 查看私立独立学校的 School Profile(学校基本资料)。

 

私立学校常见问题

 

私立学校需要花钱吗?

尽管大部分私立学校是收费的,但是很多私立学校(无论是宗教相关还是独立的学校)都会向学生提供学费补助和/或奖学金。一些私立学校入学是免费的,或者提供补贴性质的收入相关的学费。要了解如何申请学费补助或奖学金,请直接联系私立学校。
 

我是否应该申请私立学校?如何申请?

Boston School Finder 建议,所有愿意并有时间和资源完成更复杂的入学流程的家庭都应考虑私立学校。尽管申请过程可能很严格,但是私立学校仍旧是很多学生家庭的理想选择。

私立学校申请流程可能包括以下任何一项或所有内容:

  • 参观学校
  • 入学考试(具体考试内容因学校而异)
  • 申请可能需要提供论文和/或推荐信
  • 申请费(申请费是否免除因学校而异) 
  • 与学生和/或其父母面试
  • 学费补助申请,通常每年由就读该校的学生完成申请
     

您申请的任何私立学校都不能保证录取。因此,Boston School Finder 建议学生家庭应注册或申请其他学校选项,包括 波士顿公立学校(BPS 地区学校)、联邦特许学校METCO 计划。  

我是否应申请私立学校?

每所私立学校都有自己的申请流程和截止日期。波士顿的任何一所私立学校都没有单一的申请流程。您应该查看您感兴趣的每所私立学校的招生信息,直接与学校联系以获取更多信息。 
 

 在哪里可以获得申请私立学校方面的帮助? 

我们建议联系您目前所在的学校,询问私立学校的申请支持选项,这些选项可以在您所在的学校提供,也可以通过合作伙伴组织提供。波士顿有一些组织会通过帮助一些学生家庭申请私立学校来提供支持。其中两所组织是:

  • 进阶石基金会是提供进阶石学院的非盈利组织,这项严格的课程计划旨在培养未得到充分教育服务的学生,让他们能够考入大波士顿地区顶级的独立、天主教和公立考试学校并在学业上取得成功。要了解更多关于他们所提供的课程计划的内容,请访问进阶石基金会网站

  • 826 波士顿 是一家非盈利的青年写作和出版组织,总部在罗克斯伯里,让历来没有得到充分教育的 6-18 岁学生能够找到自己的声音、讲述自己的故事,并获得沟通技能,从而在学校和生活中取得成功。提供论文写作计划和研讨会。要了解关于其服务内容的更多信息,请访问 826 波士顿网站

有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

How to Apply to Private Schools

 

What are Private Schools?

Private schools are schools that are financially supported by individuals or private organizations, rather than the state. Within Boston, there are two different types of private schools:

  • Private Religious-Affiliated Schools

    These private are connected to a specific religion. Private religious-affiliated schools may also offer religious education classes as part of their curriculum, in addition to general education. However, students and families do not necessarily need to practice that religion in order to attend these schools; religious requirements vary by school. Click here to view our School Profiles for private religious-affiliated schools with our School Finder Tool.
     
  • Private Independent Schools

    These private schools do not have any religious affiliation or connection to a specific religion. Click here to view our School Profiles for private independent schools with our School Finder Tool.

 

Frequently Asked Questions about Private Schools

 

Do private schools cost money to attend?

While most private schools charge tuition, many private schools — both religious-affiliated and independent — offer financial aid and/or scholarships to students. Some private schools are tuition-free or offer subsidized, income-dependent tuition. To find out about how to apply for financial aid or scholarships, please contact the private school directly.

Should I apply to private schools? How do I apply?

Boston School Finder recommends that all families who are willing and have the time and resources to complete a more involved admissions process should consider private schools. While the application process can be rigorous, private schools may be a great-fit option for many families.

The private school application process can include any or all of the following elements:

  • A school visit
  • An entrance exam (specific exam varies by school)
  • An application that may require essays and/or recommendation letter(s)
  • An application fee (application fee waivers vary by school) 
  • An in-person interview for the student and/or their parents
  • A financial aid application, typically completed for each year the child attend that school
     

Admission is not guaranteed at any private school to which you apply. For this reason, Boston School Finder recommends that families should register or apply for additional school options, including Boston Public Schools (BPS district schools), Commonwealth charters, and the METCO program.

When should I apply to private schools?

Each private school has its own application process and deadlines. There is no single application for any of Boston's private schools. You should review the admissions section of every private school in which you are interested and reach out to the school directly to find out more information. 

Where can I get help applying to private schools? 

We recommend reaching out to your current school to ask about private school application support options, either offered at your school or through partner organizations. There are several organizations in Boston that support families by helping them apply to private schools. Two of these organizations include:

  • The Steppingstone Foundation is a nonprofit organization that offers The Steppingstone Academy, a rigorous program that prepares motivated students from historically marginalized communities for acceptance to and success at top independent, Catholic, and public exam schools in the greater Boston area. To learn more about the programs they offer, please visit The Steppingstone Foundation website.

  • 826 Boston is a nonprofit youth writing and publishing organization based in Roxbury that empowers traditionally underserved students ages 6-18 to find their voices, tell their stories, and gain communication skills to succeed in school and in life. They offer essay writing programs and workshops. To learn more about their offerings, please visit the 826 Boston website.

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school