طريقة التقديم للدخل في قرعة برنامج METCO

 

ماذا يُقصد بـ METCO؟

الغرض الأساسي من برنامج METCO الممول من الدولة هو زيادة الفرص التعليمية، والتنوع والحد من التحييد العرقي وذلك بالسماح لطلبة بوسطن بالالتحاق بالمدارس العامة في مجتمعات أخرى من التي وافقت على الاشتراك. ومنذ تأسيسه، ألحق برنامج METCO عشرات الآلاف من طلاب بوسطن من غير ذوي البشرة البيضاء بإدارات المدارس المشترِكة، كما أتاحت الفرصة لطلاب هذه الإدارات للاستفادة من مميزات التعلّم والعمل في بيئة متنوعة الأعراق والإثنيات. يعد METCO هو أضخم برنامج مدرسي تطوعي يقضي على التمييز العنصري في البلد ويضم حوالي 3150 طالبًا في 33 مجتمع من الضواحي.

يمكن لأي طالب من سكان بوسطن المتقدمين لأي مرحلة من مرحلة رياض الأطفال وحتى الصف 10 التقدم بطلب للالتحاق ببرنامج METCO. كل عام، تختار المناطق التعليمية المشاركة الطلاب ممن أكملو طلبات الالتحاق، وفقًا لعدد المواقع الشاغرة المتاحة لكل مرحلة، ووفق معايير قبول شاملة، ولا تمنح أولوية القبول على أساس الأداء الأكاديمي أو الرياضي أو العلاقات الشخصية أو الاحتياجات المادية.
 

قائمة المناطق التعليمية المشاركة في برنامج METCO

هناك 30 منطقة تعليمية عامة تشارك في برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO). 

الجدول الزمني للتقديم في قرعة برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO)

يتم القبول في برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO) من خلال أربع قرعات مختلفة تُجرى طوال العام. ويجب على العائلات التي ترغب في الدخول في برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO) إكمال نموذج طلب الانضمام إلى البرنامج عبر الإنترنت أثناء إحدى الفترات الأربعة المخصصة للتقديم في القرعة، والمبينة أدناه:

  • October 2 through November 30, 2020: UPDATE: DEADLINE EXTENDED TO DECEMBER 30, 2020

  • من 1 فبراير حتى 28 فبراير 2021

  • من 1 أبريل حتى 30 أبريل 2021

  • من 1 يونيو حتى 30 يونيو 2021

 

قائمة التحقق الخاصة بالتقديم في قرعة برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO)

ننصح بإرسال الوثائق المطلوبة ليقوم مركز METCO الرئيسي بالتحقق منها عند استكمال طلبك عبر الإنترنت. ولن تُلق أية الطلبات بالقرعة إلا إذا تم التحقق من كافة الوثائق قبل نهاية فترة التقديم. والوثائق التالية مطلوبة لإكمال طلب التقديم في قرعة برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO) والالتحاق بها:

  • صورة من بطاقة هوية الوصي القانوني

  • شهادة ميلاد الطالب

  • سجل الطالب الأكاديمي وسجل الحضور الخاص به عن العامين الماضيين

  • وثيقة واحدة (1) لإثبات "الملكية" أو "الإيجار" لعنوان السكن في مدينة Boston

  • وثيقتان (2) تثبتان أنك "تسكن" في العنوان الموجود في مدينة بوسطن على أن يكون تاريخ صدورهما لا يتجاوز الستين يومًا الماضية.

لمزيد من التفاصيل حول الوثائق التي يمكن قبولها، يرجى زيارة موقع METCO الإلكتروني.
 

انقر هنا للتقديم في قرعة برنامج METCO


الأسئلة الأكثر تداولًا حول برنامج METCO

 

ما هي قصة برنامج METCO وكيف تأسس؟

في عام 1965، منح البند 12A من الفصل 76 من قانون ولاية ماساتشوستس العام المجتمعات والإدارات والتعليمية للمدينة والبلدة الحق في "المساعدة في تخفيف التحييد العنصري" و"اختلال التوازن العنصري" وذلك بضم الطلاب ممن يسكنون في مناطق مختلفة إلى مدارسهم. يحدث "التحييد العنصري" عندما نزيد نسبة الطلاب من ذوي البشرة البيضاء عن 70%

تقدم شركة METCO, Inc. (HQ) خدمة التسجيل لهذه الحركة منذ عام 1966 ويخصص مُشرِّع الولاية لذلك تمويلاً سنويًا. وتدير المنح بعد ذلك إدارة ولاية ماساتشوستس للتعليم الابتدائي والثانوي. كما تتلقى الإدارات التعليمية التمويل المنصوص عليه في الفصل رقم 70 عن كل طالب مُسجل لديها. 
 

لما تُستخدم القرعة في برنامج METCO؟

في عام 1966 حين طُرح برنامج METCO لم تكن الحواسيب الشخصية ولا شبكات الإنترنت ولا الهواتف الذكية متوفرة. وإلى يومنا هذا، لا تزال الكثير من إجراءات التقديم تُجرى على أوراق كما تقوم بعض الأسر بنفسها بتسجيل أطفالها حديثي الولادة وتظل لسنوات على قائمة انتظار تضم آلاف الأسر. 

أما الآن، فقد أصبح التقديم بالقرعة يوفر الفرص ذاتها لمختلف الأسر، وذلك على نطاق أوسع يشمل سكان مدينة Boston الجدد. ففي نهاية مدة التقديم، يكون أمام الطالب المؤهل الذي خضعت أوراقه للتحقق الفرصة ذاتها ليرسَل إلى إحدى المناطق المشاركة في برنامج METCO عن طريق قرعة عشوائية.
 

هل الطلاب هم من يختارون المدينة أو الحي حيث المدرسة التي يمكنهم الالتحاق بها؟

الإجابة لا، يُرسل الطلاب إلى المناطق حينما يتوفر لهم مكان في الصف أو بترتيب القرعة أو رقم الحالة.
 

هل METCO برنامج قائم على مقدار الدخل؟

الإجابة لا، فخلال إجراءات التقديم، والإحالة، والتسكين لن يُطلب منك ذكر معلومات عن الدخل. 
 

طفلي من ذوي الاحتياجات التعليمية الخاصة. فهل أستطيع التقديم في برنامج METCO؟

نعم. جميع التلاميذ الذين لا تقل أعمارهم عن 5 سنوات (بحلول 31 أغسطس) والذين سيلتحقون بالصفوف من K2 حتى 10 ويعيشون في بوسطن مؤهلون للتقديم في برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO). 
 

متى تعرف الأسرة أن طفلها جرى تسكينه في إحدى المدارس؟

تعمل المناطق المشاركة في برنامج المجلس الحضري للفرص التعليمية (METCO) على إطالة مدة عروض الالتحاق بمدرسة لتكون من شهر فبراير وحتى أكتوبر. ويستطيع الطلاب الحصول على عروض البرنامج للالتحاق بمدرسة بعد بداية السنة الدراسية. وعلى هذا النحو، فإن موقع البحث بوسطن سكول فايندر ينصح الأسر التي تقدم لأبنائها من أجل برنامج (METCO) بالتقديم والتسجيل في مدارس بوسطن الأخرى. فمن خلال صفحة إرشادات التسجيل في المدرسة يمكنك البدء في استكشاف خيارات التسجيل في مدارس بوسطن.  

هل عليّ أن أدفع ثمن وسائل المواصلات التي أستقلها لأصل إلى المدرسة التابعة لبرنامج METCO؟

الإجابة لا، توفر المناطق المشاركة في برنامج METCO حافلات تتحرك من عدد محدود من المحطات في Boston، توجد بصفة أساسية في أحياء المدن Dorchester، وMattapan، وRoxbury. تتحمل الأسر مسؤولية توفير وسائل مواصلات من وإلى هذه المحطات.
 

أرسلت أسرتي طلبًا للتقديم العام الماضي و/أو جرى إدراج طفلي في قائمة الانتظار. فهل علينا التقديم ثانية خلال هذا العام؟

الإجابة نعم، عليك إرسال طلب للتقديم في قرعة برنامج METCO كل عام إذا لم تستلم طلبًا بتسكينك في إحدى المدارس المشاركة في برنامج METCO العام الماضي.

للاطلاع على مزيدٍ من الإجابات عن الأسئلة الأكثر تداولًا حول برنامج METCO، برجاء زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني للبرنامج.

لديك سؤال؟

سيطلعك خبراؤنا على المعلومات الصحيحة للعثور على أفضل المدارس

How to Apply to the METCO Program Lottery

 

What is METCO?

The purpose of the state-funded METCO program is to expand educational opportunities, increase diversity, and reduce racial isolation by permitting students from Boston to attend public schools in other communities that have agreed to participate. Since its founding, the METCO program has enrolled tens of thousands of Boston students of color in participating school districts and has provided the opportunity for students in those districts to experience the advantages of learning and working in a racially and ethnically diverse setting. METCO is the largest volunteer school desegregation program in the country and places approximately 3150 students in 33 suburban communities.

Any Boston resident entering kindergarten through grade 10 may apply to be enrolled in METCO. Partner districts select students with completed applications every year based on the number of slots available in each grade and a holistic admissions criteria. No preference is given based on academic or athletic performance, personal relationships, or financial need.
 

Click here to apply to the METCO lottery

 

List of Participating METCO Partner Districts

There are currently 33 public school districts that participate in the METCO program. 

METCO Lottery Application Timeline & Checklist

Beginning in 2019, acceptance into the METCO program will be determined by multiple lotteries in the Winter and Spring. Families interested in being considered for the METCO program must complete the METCO Lottery Application form online. 

October–December 2019

  • The METCO Lottery Application was made available online for the first time.
     

January 2020

  • The first METCO Lottery took place on Friday, Jan. 17, 2020.
     

February 2020

  • Winter Application Cycle: Complete your METCO Lottery Preliminary Application by Saturday, Feb. 29, 2020. You do not need to submit documentation to complete your application online; you only submit your child's basic information.
     

March 2020

  • Families have two weeks after the Winter Lottery Application deadline to submit their required documents for verification by METCO Headquarters. For more specific details about what documents can be accepted, please visit the METCO website:

    • Legal Guardian Photo ID

    • Student birth certificate

    • Student academic records for the last two years of schooling

    • One (1) document proving you OWN OR RENT at a Boston address

    • Two (2) documents proving you LIVE at that Boston address dated within the past 60 days
       

April 2020

  • Winter METCO Lottery takes place; exact date TBA. 

  • Once you receive a lottery number, attend a METCO Info Session; dates and times will be made available by METCO at that time.

  • Spring Application Cycle: Complete your METCO Lottery Preliminary Application from Wednesday, Apr. 1 through Thursday, Apr. 30, 2020. You do not need to submit documentation to complete your application online; you only submit your child's basic information.
     

May 2020

  • Families have two weeks after the Spring Lottery Application deadline to submit their required documents for verification by METCO Headquarters. For more specific details about what documents can be accepted, please visit the METCO website:

    • Legal Guardian Photo ID

    • Student birth certificate

    • Student academic records for the last two years of schooling

    • One (1) document proving you OWN OR RENT at a Boston address

    • Two (2) documents proving you LIVE at that Boston address dated within the past 60 days

  • Spring METCO Lottery takes place; exact date TBA.

  • Once you receive a lottery number, attend a METCO Info Session; dates and times will be made available by METCO at that time.
     

February–October 2020

  • METCO partner districts begin offering enrollment placements now through October 1.


 

Frequently Asked Questions about METCO

 

What is the history of METCO and how is the program funded?

In 1965, Massachusetts General Law Chapter 76, Section 12A gave city and town school committees and districts the right to “help alleviate racial isolation” and “racial imbalance” by placing children who reside elsewhere in their schools. “Racial isolation” is defined as occurring when a school population is more than 70% white.

METCO, Inc. (HQ) has been the service provider for this placement since 1966 and the state legislator allocates funding every year. Grants are then administered by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Districts also receive Chapter 70 funding for each student enrolled. 

Why is METCO now using a lottery?

When METCO was designed in 1966, there were no personal computers, internet, or smartphones. Until now, much of the application process has been on paper and families would sign up their newborns in person and wait for years on a waiting list of thousands. 

Now, a lottery application process ensures equal odds for families in a wider range of communities, including recent Boston residents. At the end of the application period, every eligible, verified student has an equal chance to be referred to a METCO partner district through a random lottery.

Do students choose which city or town where they can attend school?

No. Students are referred to districts as space becomes available in each grade, in order of lottery or status number.

Is METCO an income-based program?

No. The application, referral, and placement process does not ask you any information about your income. 

My child has special education needs. Can we still apply to METCO?

Yes. All school-aged students in Boston are eligible to apply to the METCO program. 

When does our family find out if our child has been placed in a school?

METCO partner districts extend placement offers from February through October 1. Students can receive METCO placement offers after the school year has already begun. As such, Boston School Finder recommends every family applying to METCO should also register and apply for other Boston school options. Our School Registration Toolkit can help you get started exploring your Boston school options.

Do I have to pay for transportation to my METCO school?

No. METCO partner districts provide busses to their schools from a limited number of bus stops in Boston, with locations primarily in the Dorchester, Mattapan, and Roxbury neighborhoods. Families are responsible for providing transportation to and from these bus stops.

My family applied last year and/or my child was placed on the METCO Waitlist. Do we have to apply this year?

Yes. You must apply for the METCO Lottery every year if you do not receive placement into a METCO partner school the previous year.

For more answers to Frequently Asked Questions about METCO, please visit the METCO website.

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school