波士顿的学校类型

 

作为居住在波士顿的家庭,仅在波士顿市内你就有 200 多所学校可供选择。本资源指南介绍了波士顿家庭可以选择的各种学校,包括波士顿市以外的学校。你可以根据需要申请多种类型的学校,但每个学校的申请方式并非只有一种;不同类型的学校——甚至每个类型中的个别学校都有不同的流程。 
 

波士顿公立学校 (BPS)

波士顿公立学校 (BPS) 也被称为“地段学校”或 "BPS",指在波士顿市的免费公立学区内的所有学校。波士顿市内有超过 125 所 BPS 学校。BPS 学校为 K0 至 K2 年级(3 至 5 岁)至 12 年级及以上的学生提供教育服务。 

  • BPS 内有许多类型的学校和项目,包括试点学校和 考试学校、Horace Mann“学区内”特许学校,以及 Advanced Work Class 和 Education for All 等项目。请访问我们的 BPS 资源指南了解更多信息。

  • 单击 此处,以通过我们的 School Finder Tool  查看所有 BPS 学校的 School Profile(学校基本资料)。
     

联邦特许学校 

联邦特许学校也称为“特许学校”,在波士顿有 16 所。这些学校免费并向公众开放。有兴趣的学生可以通过 Boston Public Charter School 申请书同时申请 16 所特许学校中的任何一个或所有这些学校。这些特许学校的入学通过抽签决定。 

私立宗教学校

私立宗教学校也被称为教区学校。波士顿有许多私立宗教学校,包括大量天主教学校。虽然私立宗教学校收费,但许多学校为学生提供经济补助和/或奖学金。一些天主教学校免学费或者根据家庭收入情况提供学费补贴。

私立独立学校

私立独立学校也简称为“私立学校”,大多数是收费学校;这些学校大多数都能向学生提供经济援助或奖学金;但有些私立学校是免费学校。每所私立学校都有自己独立的录取程序,并需要单独申请。 

波士顿以外的其他可选择学校

除了以上几种学校之外,你的家庭还可以在波士顿市区内外选择数个学校。
 

METCO

METCO 是一项免费计划。通过这一计划,波士顿的学生可以去波士顿市以外的 30 多个有合作关系的城镇的公立学校上学。从 2019 年开始,METCO 将通过抽签决定接纳哪些申请者。有兴趣参加 METCO 计划的家庭必须在线填写 METCO 在线申请表 。 

职业技术教育学校和计划

职业技术教育学校和计划简称为“职教”,其旨在培养学生在农业、美容、电气、水暖等领域的特定职业技能或能力。这些课程可以在单独学校或校园中开展,也可以作为单独教育途径在马萨诸塞州现有公立学区中开展。 

马萨诸塞州联邦特许学校

除了波士顿市内的 16 所联邦特许学校之外,波士顿居民也可以通过抽签到全州超过 80 所联邦特许学校中的任何一所入学。这些学校免费并向公众开放。波士顿公立特许学校以外的联邦特许学校都各有自己的入学申请程序和截止日期。学校通常会按照地段分配,但是所有联邦特许学校都通过抽签决定入学的学生。

跨区择校

有些学区允许地段以外的孩子通过跨区择校项目计划入学。父母必需单独申请每个学区,但不能保证转学成功。通过跨区择校项目计划在地段以外的学校上学的孩子无法免费获得通勤班车服务。截至 2019 年,该州已有 170 个学区参与了该计划。

  • 单击这里以查看能够接收所在校区以外学生的参与该计划之校区的完整列表。

  • 如需更多的跨区择校项目计划的信息,请访问中小学教育部的 择校指南
     

Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science

Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science 也被称为 "Mass Academy",位于马萨诸塞州伍斯特市,隶属于伍斯特理工学院 (WPI)。Mass Academy 是一所优秀的免费男女同校公立学校,从马萨诸塞州招收 100 名左右的 11 和 12 年级参加速成课程的学生。学生将在伍斯特理工学院参加严格的课程,以便在高中毕业之前做好接受大学学术课程的准备。

Greenfield Commonwealth Virtual School (GCVS)

Greenfield Commonwealth Virtual School(简称"GCVS")是免费的虚拟公立学校,完全在线提供 K-12 教育。GCVS 可以让各种能力水平学生在州政府认证教师的指导下在家灵活学习在线课程,同时满足马萨诸塞州的所有教育标准。这些教师接受过虚拟学校环境培训,并具有丰富的虚拟学校环境教学经验。 

TEC Connections Academy Commonwealth Virtual School (TECCA)

TEC Connections Academy Virtual School(简称"TECCA")是免费的虚拟公立学校,完全在线提供 K-12 教育。TECCA为学生提供了 一个高质量的、可代替传统教室的在线学习平台,可为学生提供支持性的、个性化的学习方案;进行有效的教导;令人愉快的学习体验和多元化的课程设置,以期激发学生的好奇心、促进个人成长,并促进学术成就。

有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

Types of Schools in Boston

 

As a family in Boston, you have over 200 school options available to you. This Resource Guide explains how and when to apply for schools for each type of school available to your family in Boston. You can apply to as many different types of schools as you like, but there is no single way to apply to every school; each type of school has different processes. 
 

Boston Public Schools (BPS)

Also known as "district schools" or "BPS," Boston Public Schools is the free public school district for the city of Boston. There are more than 125 BPS schools in Boston. BPS schools serve students in grades K0 to K2 (ages 3 to 5 years old) through 12th grade and beyond. 

Commonwealth Charter Schools 

Also known simply as “charter schools,” there are 16 Commonwealth charter school campuses in Boston. These schools are free and open to the public. Interested students can apply to any or all 16 charter schools at the same time via the Boston Public Charter School application. Placement into these charter schools is determined by lottery. 

Private Religious-Affiliated Schools

Also known as parochial schools, Boston has a number of private religious-affiliated schools, including a large number of Catholic schools. While private religious-affiliated schools cost money to attend, many of these schools offer financial aid and/or scholarships to students. Some Catholic schools are free or offer subsidized, income-dependent tuition. 

Private Independent Schools

Also known simply as “private schools,” these schools cost money to attend. Many of these schools offer financial aid or scholarships to students. Each private school requires its own separate application. 

Other School Options Beyond Boston

In addition to the five types of schools above, there are additional school options available to your family both within and beyond the city limits of Boston.
 

METCO 

METCO is a free program where Boston students travel to public schools across more than 30 cities and towns outside of the city of Boston. Beginning in 2019, acceptance into the METCO program will be determined by lottery. Families interested in being considered for the METCO program must complete the METCO application form online

Career/Vocational Technical Education Schools & Programs

Also collectively called “voc-tech” schools and programs for short, career/vocational schools and programs provide students with an education in a specific skill or trade for careers in such fields as agriculture, cosmetology, electric, plumbing, etc. These programs may be at standalone schools or campuses, or may be included as a separate educational track at existing public school districts within Massachusetts. 

Massachusetts Commonwealth Charter Schools

In addition to the 16 Commonwealth charter schools within the city of Boston, Boston residents are welcome to enter the lottery for any of the more than 80 Commonwealth charter schools across the state. These schools are free and open to the public. Commonwealth charter schools outside of the Boston Public Charter Schools have their own enrollment applications and deadlines. There is often preference based on neighborhood, but all Commonwealth charter schools have a lottery for which anyone can sign up

Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science 

Also known as “Mass Academy,” this school is located in Worcester, MA and is affiliated with Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI). Mass Academy is a free, co-educational, public school of excellence that enrolls approximately 100 academically accelerated 11th and 12th grade students from across Massachusetts. Students take rigorous classes at WPI to prepare them for college academics before they graduate high school.

  • For more information about its program and how to apply, please visit the Mass Academy website.
     

Greenfield Commonwealth Virtual School (GCVS)

Greenfield Commonwealth Virtual School—also known simply as GCVS—is a free, virtual public school that offers K-12 education completely online. GCVS provides students of all abilities with the flexibility of an online curriculum that lets them learn from home while meeting all of the education standards of Massachusetts, under the guidance of state-certified teachers who are trained and have experience teaching in virtual school environments. 

Inter-District School Choice

Some school districts allow children outside their boundaries to attend their schools through the inter-district school choice program. Parents are required to apply to each school district separately, and transfers are not guaranteed. Children who attend schools outside their home districts through the inter-district school choice program do not get free transportation.

Currently 170 school districts across the state participate in the program. To find out which school districts are accepting students from outside their district, see School and District Profiles on the Department of Education's web site.

  • For more information about Inter-District Choice, visit the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education's Choosing a School Guide

  • For a full list of participating school districts, visit the School Finder's Inter-District School Choice Guide 

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school