如何申请学校

作为居住在波士顿的家庭,有很多学校可供你选择。包括:

  • 波士顿公立学校(“地区学校”或 "BPS")
  • 公立特许学校
  • 教区学校
  • METCO(波士顿学生可前往其他城镇上学的计划)
  • 私立学校/独立学校

以下是你的孩子如何报名其中任一所学校的详细说明。如果你对此流程有任何问题,请发送电子邮件至 contact@bostonschoolfinder.org 联系我们。

 

波士顿公立学校 (BPS) 报名流程

波士顿约有 125 所公立学校,从学前班(3 岁)到高中(18 岁及以上),每个年级的学生超过 50,000 名。

我如何为我的孩子注册 BPS?

你的孩子可在任何 BPS Welcome Center 注册。你必须亲自去注册。在你前往学校之前,请在 discoverBPS.org 上和 Boston School Finder 上探究学校选项。在亲自前往学校时,一定要携带以下文件:

  • 两份波士顿居住证明
  • 孩子的出生证明或护照
  • 孩子最新的免疫记录
  • 父母的照片 ID。

我应在何时为孩子注册 2019 年秋季的 BPS?

BPS 注册的开始时间非常早 - 优先注册期限为你的孩子入学当年的一月份到三月份。例如,如果你的孩子将在 2019 年 9 月份入学幼儿园,那么你应该计划在 2019 年 1 月至 3 月期间注册。 我们强烈建议在孩子进入就读年级的第一轮注册期间进行注册。这是确保你能够获得你中意的学校入学名额的最好办法。

  • 2019 年 1 月 3 日至 2 月 1 日:学前班(适合 2019 年 9 月 1 日前出生的 3 岁或 4 岁孩子)、6 年级、7 年级或 9 年级第一轮注册期间
  • 2019 年 2 月 11 日至 3 月 22 日:幼儿园(针对 K2 - 2019 年 9 月 1 日前出生的 5 岁孩子)或任何其他年级的第一轮注册期间

波士顿公立学校有什么特别的分班安排?

有。除了标准分配流程以外,波士顿公立学校中还有其他几个类型的学校可供学生报名。

  • 根据个人需求分班 – 有些学校针对在学习、体育和语言方面有特别需求的学生提供非常专业的计划方案 – 个别化教育计划 (IEP) 和英语语言学习 (ELL) 学生。通常来说,波士顿公立学校会在报名期间提供额外的支持和分班意见。
  • Advanced Work Class – 某些学校在 4-6 年级提供 Advanced Work Class (AWC)。如果学生凭借自己的考试成绩受邀加入 Advanced Work Class,那么该学生将会在一月份收到一份通知,以及含有 AWC 的择校表。受邀并希望加入的学生必须选择标明 AWC 的学校选项(例如,"Murphy AWC")。单击此处了解更多。 
  • Exam School – 波士顿有三所“Exam School”,这三所学校招收 7 – 12 年级的学生。这些学校根据平均学分绩点和独立入学测验 (ISEE)(一个全国性考试)的测试成绩录取学生。有兴趣的学生务必要参加 ISEE 考试并在一月份的志愿表中填上 Exam School。单击此处了解更多。 
  • 试点高中 – 波士顿有几所“试点学校”,这些学校有自己的招生流程。在某些情况下,要单独向学校提交报名表。Boston School Finder 会在每个学校的简介页面提供报名表链接,或者你可访问 BPS 网站上了解更多信息。有自己招生流程的试点高中包括以下几所学校:
    • 波士顿艺术学院 (BAA)
    • 波士顿社区领导学院 (BCLA)
    • Fenway High School
    • New Mission High School
  • Horace Mann Charter Schools – Horace Mann(也称为“区内”)特许学校通过公开抽签来招生。Boston School Finder 提供了报名表链接,感兴趣的学生必须在每个 Horace Mann 特许学校简介页面填写。Horace Mann 特许学校包括:
    • Boston Day & Evening Academy
    • Boston Green Academy
    • Dudley Street Neighborhood Charter School
    • Edward M. Kennedy Academy for Health Careers
    • UP Academy Boston
    • UP Academy Dorchester

我还需要知道什么?

要充分利用 BPS 欢迎中心访问,我们强烈建议你在预约前执行以下操作:

您可访问 www.bostonpublicschools.org/register 了解更多信息,或观看关于注册过程的 BPS 视频:

 

联邦特许学校的报名流程

联邦特许学校是不属于任何其他地区的公立学校。波士顿的特许学校在全市招收各年级学生约 11,000 名。联邦特许学校可通过公开抽签的方式招收学生。学生不需要进行测试或出示成绩就能参加抽签。如果学生通过抽签获取入学资格,可选择是否入学。

我如何为我的孩子注册特许学校?

你可使用波士顿公立特许在线申请系统注册波士顿大部分特许学校。你可选择中意的学校,输入你的姓名参加抽签,然后提交申请。Bridge Boston Charter School 有一个单独的流程,你可单击此处查找。

我何时为我的孩子注册特许学校?

所有的申请都必须在 2019 年 2 月 28 日之前提交。如果你无法在该日期之前完成申请,你只能等待看私立学校在春季晚些时候是否还有其他的抽签活动,或者只能等到下一年。

 

天主教学校的报名流程

波士顿的教区学校遍及全市,很多有宗教信仰的家庭都会选择天主教学校。

我该如何以及何时为我的孩子注册天主教学校?

每个学校都有自己的申请流程和时间表。要了解如何注册特定学校的更多信息,请访问学校的 Boston School Finder 页面,并单击“立即申请”。单击后会进入学校的申请页面。

我还需要知道什么?

与 BPS 学校和特许学校不一样,绝大多数天主教学校只要花钱就可以上。这些学校通常都会提供助学金,让每个人都能上得起学,所以在申请之前询问助学金和奖学金事宜很重要。

 

METCO 报名流程

在 METCO 计划中,波士顿学生可以乘坐公交到附近的城镇上学。波士顿的任何家庭都可以申请 METCO。

我如何为我的孩子注册 METCO?

这里有 METCO 名额的候补名单,不保证安排入学。如需注册,你必须亲自前往位于罗克斯伯里的 Dimock 大街 40 号的办公室。

我还需要知道什么?

METCO 候补名单中的学生按照接收日期的顺序排列,因此,如果你考虑申请 METCO,建议你尽早注册。你可在 METCO 网站中了解更多信息。

 

其他私立学校的报名流程

波士顿共有 30 多所非天主教私立学校,你可在 Boston School Finder 中查找这些学校。

我该如何以及何时为我的孩子注册私立学校?

每个学校都有自己的申请流程和时间表。要了解如何注册特定学校的更多信息,请访问学校的 Boston School Finder 页面,并单击“立即申请”。单击后会进入学校的申请页面。

我还需要知道什么?

与 BPS 学校和特许学校不一样,绝大多数私立学校只要花钱就可以上。有些学校会提供助学金,让每个人都能上得起学,所以在申请之前询问助学金和奖学金事宜很重要。

有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

How to Apply to Schools

 

As a family in Boston, you have many school options. These include:

  • Boston Public Schools ("district schools" or "BPS")
  • Public charter schools
  • Parochial schools
  • METCO (a program where students from Boston travel to attend school in other cities and towns)
  • Private/Independent schools

 

Below is a detailed description of how to enroll your child in any of these options. If you have any questions about this process, email us at contact@bostonschoolfinder.org.

 

Enrollment Process for Boston Public Schools (BPS)

There are approximately 125 BPS schools in the city serving over 50,000 students total in every grade – from pre-kindergarten (age 3) to high school (age 18 and older).

How do I register my child for BPS?

You can register your child at any BPS Welcome Center. You must go in person to register. Before you go, research your school options on discoverBPS.org and on Boston School Finder. Once you are ready to go in person, be sure to bring:

  • two proofs of Boston residency
  • your child’s birth certificate or passport
  • your child’s up-to-date immunization record
  • parent’s photo ID.

 

When should I register my child for BPS for the Fall of 2019?

Registration for BPS starts very early - the priority registration period is January through March in the same year that your child will enter school. For example, if your child will be in Kindergarten in September of 2019, then you should plan to register between January and March of 2019.  We strongly encourage registering during first round registration for the grade your child is entering. This is the best way to ensure that you get a seat in a school that you want.

  • January 3 to February 1, 2019: Pre-kindergarten (age 3 or 4 by September 1, 2019), 6th, 7th, or 9th grade first round registration period
  • February 11 - March 22, 2019: Kindergarten (K2 - age 5 by September 1, 2019) or any other grade first round registration period

 

Are there any special school placements in BPS?

Yes. There are several types of schools in BPS that students enroll in outside of the standard assignment process.

  • Placement Based on Individual Needs – Some schools offer highly specialized programs for students with significant learning, physical, and language acquisition needs; students with Individualized Education Programs (IEPs); and English Language Learners (ELLs). Typically, BPS will provide additional support and placement recommendations during enrollment.
  • Advanced Work Classes – Some schools offer Advanced Work Classes (AWC) in grades 4-6. If a student is invited into Advanced Work Classes based on his or her test results, he or she will be sent a notification in January and sent a school choice form that includes AWC. Students who are invited and want to participate must select the school option that states AWC (for example, “Murphy AWC”). Learn more here. 
  • Exam Schools – Boston has three “exam schools” which serve students in grades 7 – 12. Admission to these schools is based on grade point average and test scores on the Independent School Entrance Exam (ISEE), a national exam. Interested students should be sure to take the ISEE and to submit the exam schools on their list of preferences in January. Learn more here
  • Pilot High Schools – There are several “pilot schools” in Boston that run their own admissions process. In some cases, this involves submitting a separate enrollment form to the school. Boston School Finder provides a link to these enrollment forms on each school’s profile page, or you can find out more on the BPS website. The pilot high schools that require their own admissions processes include:
    • Boston Arts Academy (BAA)
    • Boston Community Leadership Academy (BCLA)
    • Fenway High School
    • New Mission High School
  • Horace Mann Charter Schools – Admission to Horace Mann (also known as “in-district”) charter schools is by an open lottery. Boston School Finder provides a link to the enrollment form that interested students must fill out on each Horace Mann charter school’s profile page. The Horace Mann charter schools are:
    • Boston Day & Evening Academy
    • Boston Green Academy
    • Dudley Street Neighborhood Charter School
    • Edward M. Kennedy Academy for Health Careers
    • UP Academy Boston
    • UP Academy Dorchester

 

Anything else I should know?

To get the most out of your BPS Welcome Center visit, we strongly encourage you to do the following prior to your appointment:

  • Visit any BPS school you’re interested in to meet with school leaders, speak with teachers and see the school in action

  • Pre-register online for BPS to speed up the registration process

  • Make an appointment at a Welcome Center ahead of time so that you don’t have to wait in line

You can find more information at www.bostonpublicschools.org/register.

 

Enrollment Process for Commonwealth Charter Schools

Commonwealth charter schools are public schools not affiliated with any other district. Charter schools in Boston serve approximately 11,000 students in all grades across the city. Charter schools are free to attend and admit students through an open lottery. Students do not have to take tests or show their grades to enter the lottery. If they gain admission via lottery, they can choose whether or not to attend.

How do I register my child for a charter school?

You can register for most charter schools in Boston using the Boston Public Charter Online Application system. You can pick which schools you want to enter your name into the lottery for and submit one application. Bridge Boston Charter School has a separate process, which you can find here.

When should I register my child for a charter school?

All applications must be in by February 28, 2019. If you don’t submit your application by this date, you will have to wait to see if individual schools have additional lotteries later in the spring, or wait until the following year.

 

Enrollment Process for Catholic Schools

Located across the city, many families of all religions choose a Catholic school.

How and when do I register my child for Catholic School?

Each school runs its own application process with separate timelines. To learn more about how to register for specific schools, visit their Boston School Finder pages and click “Apply Now.” This will navigate you to the school’s application page.

Anything else I should know?

Unlike BPS and charter schools, most Catholic schools cost money to attend. These schools generally attempt to offer financial aid to make the school affordable to everyone, so it’s important to ask about financial aid and scholarship opportunities before you apply.

 

Enrollment Process for METCO

In the METCO program, students from Boston travel by bus to attend school in nearby towns. Any family in Boston is eligible to apply for METCO.

How do I register my child for METCO?

There is a waiting list for spaces in METCO, so a placement is not guaranteed. To register, you must go to the office located at 40 Dimock St. in Roxbury.

Anything else I should know?

Students are placed on the METCO waiting list in order by date received, so if you’re considering this option, we encourage you to register early. You can learn more on METCO’s website.

 

Enrollment Process for Other Private Schools

Boston is home to over 30 non-Catholic private schools, all of which you can find on Boston School Finder.

How and when do I register my child for private school?

Each school runs its own application process with separate timelines. To learn more about how to register for specific schools, visit their Boston School Finder pages and click “Apply Now.” This will navigate you to the school’s application page.

Anything else I should know?

Unlike BPS and charter schools, most private schools cost money to attend. Some schools offer financial aid to make the school affordable to everyone, so it’s important to ask about financial aid and scholarship opportunities before you apply.

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school