如何为 3 或 4 岁孩子注册通用学前教育 (UPK) 和其他学校选择

 

在波士顿市,为您的孩子考虑择校永远不会太早。无论您对公立学校、特许学校还是私立学校感兴趣,很多学校接受年龄低至 4 岁的学生,有些甚至接受只有 3 岁的学生

在波士顿,这些低龄学习者有自己的学前班年级,按年龄分组:K0 为 3 岁的孩子,K1 为 4 岁的孩子。K2 通常与传统幼儿园年级相关,接收 5 岁的学生。

Why You Should Register Your 3- or 4-Year-Old for School

这个年龄段是进入波士顿公立学校的入学高峰之一,这意味着有大量 4 岁的孩子都在努力争取进入非常适合的学校的名额。因此,请务必为您的 4 岁孩子注册每一所可能录取的学校。

请记住:您可以为孩子在波士顿获得的任何学校名额注册,但这并不意味着您的孩子必须在他们获得名额的学校入学。Boston School Finder 提醒学生家庭,您随时可以拒绝您得到的名额,但是不能拒绝您没有得到的名额。

除了通过 BPS 提供的 K0 和 K1 选项之外,波士顿还承诺为 4 岁的儿童提供UPK(通用学前教育)名额。波士顿市致力于在社区机构为 4 岁儿童创造 750 个高质量的 UPK 名额

波士顿 UPK 计划的名额向波士顿家庭免费提供,由独立的提供者(称为“社区组织”,简称 CBO)提供服务。参与 UPK 计划符合 BPS 现有课程和 BPS 学校 K1 名额的标准,参与 CBO 的教师也通过了该课程的培训。 

如何为 4 岁的孩子在波士顿报名读书

为您的孩子选择一所非常适合的学校是您作为父母可以做出的最重要的决定之一,而且我们认为,重要的是尽早让您的孩子进入一所非常适合的学校。继续阅读相关内容,了解如何为波士顿的 4 岁孩子注册和申请所有可选学校。

In Boston Public Schools

目前,有 78 所 BPS 学校为将于 2021 年 9 月 1 日年满 4 岁的孩子提供 K1 名额。由于 K0 和 K1 名额有限,我们建议每个有 4 岁孩子的家庭在其优先注册周期内注册 K1 BPS 名额。

对于 K0 和 K1 年级,学生家庭必须在 2021 年 1 月 29 日(星期五)之前注册,方可符合 BPS 优先注册资格。在这个截止日期之后,学生家庭仍然可以注册 K0 和 K1 名额,但是您的孩子不太可能获得学校中的名额。

有关更多信息,请阅读我们的如何注册 BPS 指南。 

At UPK Community-Based Organizations

作为 UPK 计划的一部分,整个波士顿都有为 4 岁儿童提供的额外名额,如下方地图所示:


 

如需让您的孩子在 2021-2022 学年在 CBO 就读 UPK: 

  1. Your child must be 4 years old by Sep. 1, 2021.

  2. 填写 UPK 在线申请表名额已满时,将以滚动方式接受申请。我们鼓励家庭提早申请,以便有最大的机会找到最适合的选择。

  3. 请联系波士顿公立学校波士顿 UPK 家庭参与和综合服务经理 Joelle Auguste ,讨论您可用的 UPK 选项。她的电子邮箱是 mauguste3@bostonpublicschools.org,您也可以致电 617-635-9063 或 857-342-2738 与她联系。

如需了解有关波士顿 UPK 计划的更多信息,请访问波士顿公立学校网站上的全新波士顿通用学前教育页面。 

At Commonwealth Charter Schools

波士顿有几所联邦特许学校为 4 岁儿童提供 K1 名额。这些是属于波士顿公立学校学区的免费公立学校。

联邦特许学校的录取通过抽签决定。

如需申请特许学校抽签,学生家庭必须在 2021 年 2 月 28 日(星期天)之前在线填写波士顿特许公立学校抽签申请表

波士顿的联邦特许公立学校抽签时间为 2021 年 3 月 9 日。这些学校会在 3 月初将抽签结果通知学生和家庭。有关更多信息,请阅读我们的如何申请特许学校指南。 

私立宗教学校

许多私立宗教学校为 4 岁儿童提供名额;许多天主教学校都设有 3 岁及以下幼儿的名额。

私立宗教学校也被称为教区学校。波士顿有许多私立宗教学校,包括大量天主教学校。虽然私立宗教学校收费,但许多学校为学生提供经济补助和/或奖学金。一些天主教学校免学费或者根据家庭收入情况提供学费补贴。  

要在其中一所学校为您的 4 岁孩子注册,请直接与各学校联系。您可以使用我们的 School Finder 工具获取他们的联系信息。有关更多信息,请阅读我们的如何申请私立学校指南。 

有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

How to Register for Universal Pre-K (UPK) & Other School Options for Children Who Are 3 or 4 Years Old

 

In the City of Boston, it's never too early to think about school options for your child. Whether you're interested in public, charter, or private school options, many schools accept students as young as 4 years old and some even as young as 3 years old.

In Boston, these earliest learners have their own pre-K grades grouped by age: K0 for 3-year-olds and K1 for 4-year-olds. K2 is the grade commonly associated with a traditional kindergarten grade for entering 5-year-old students.

Why You Should Register Your 3- or 4-Year-Old for School

This age group is one of the largest entry points into Boston Public Schools, meaning there is a large number of 4-year-olds all trying to get seats into great-fit schools. Thus, it's critical to register your 4-year-old for every school option available to your family.

Remember: you can register your child for any school seat they get in Boston, but that doesn't mean you have to enroll your child at the school they received a seat. At Boston School Finder, we like to remind families that you can always turn down a seat you receive, but you can't turn down a seat you don't have.

In addition to K0 and K1 options via BPS, Boston has also made a commitment to offer UPK—Universal Pre-Kindergarten—seats for children who are 4 years old. The City is on its way to creating 750 high-quality UPK seats in Boston for 4-year-olds in Boston at Community-Based Organizations.

Seats in Boston's UPK program are FREE to Boston families and serviced by independent providers referred to as Community-Based Organizations, or CBOs for short. Participating UPK programs align with existing BPS curriculum and standards for K1 seats at BPS schools and teachers at participating CBOs are also trained in this curriculum. 

How to Register Your 4-Year-Old for School in Boston

Choosing a great-fit school for your child is one of the most important decisions you can make as a parent—and we believe it's important families get their child into a great-fit school as early as they can. Read on for how to register and apply to all of the options available for 4-year-olds in Boston.

In Boston Public Schools

Currently, there are 78 BPS schools that offer K1 seats for students who will be 4 years old by September 1, 2021. As there are a limited number of K0 and K1 seats available, we recommend every family with a 4-year-old register for a K1 BPS seat during their Priority Registration round.

For Grades K0 and K1, families must register by Friday, Jan. 29, 2021 to qualify for BPS Priority Registration. Families can still register for K0 and K1 seats after this deadline, but it is very unlikely there will be open seats available for your child in a school setting.

For more information, please read our How to Register for BPS guide. 

At UPK Community-Based Organizations

There are additional seats for 4-year-olds throughout Boston as part of the UPK program, as shown on the map below:


 

To enroll your child in UPK at a CBO for the 2021-2022 school year: 

  1. Your child must be 4 years old by Sep. 1, 2021.

  2. Complete the UPK Application Form online. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis, as seats are filled. We encourage families to apply early so they have the best chance of finding their best-fit option.

  3. Contact Joelle Auguste, Boston UPK Family Engagement & Comprehensive Services Manager for Boston Public Schools, to discuss your available UPK options. Her email is mauguste3@bostonpublicschools.org and you can call her at 617-635-9063 or 857-342-2738.

To learn more about Boston's UPK program, please visit the new Universal Pre-K Boston page at the Boston Public Schools website. 

At Commonwealth Charter Schools

There are several Commonwealth Charter schools in Boston that offer K1 seats for 4-year-olds. These are free, public schools that are not part of the Boston Public Schools district.

Placement at Commonwealth Charter schools is determined by lottery.

To apply for the Charter School Lottery, families must complete the Boston Charter Public School Lottery Application online by Sunday, Feb. 28, 2021.

Boston’s charter public school lotteries will be held on March 9, 2021. These schools will notify students and families of their lottery results in early March. For more information, please read our How to Apply to Charter Schools guide. 

At Private Religious-Affiliated Schools

There are at many private religious schools that offer seats for 4-year-olds; many Catholic schools have seats for 3-year-old children and younger infants.

Also known as parochial schools, Boston has a number of private religious-affiliated schools, including a large number of Catholic schools. While private religious-affiliated schools cost money to attend, many of these schools offer financial aid and/or scholarships to students. Some Catholic schools are free or offer subsidized, income-dependent tuition.  

To register and enroll your 4-year-old at one of these schools, please contact individual schools directly. You can use our School Finder tool to get their contact information. For more information, please read our How to Apply to Private Schools guide. 

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school