学生家庭申请天主教学校须知

学生家庭申请天主教学校须知

我们与 Catholic Memorial School 的校长 Dr. Peter F. Folan、Saint John School 的校长 Claire Cassidy 和 Ursuline Academy 的营销与传播总监 Elaine Fazekas 进行了深度访谈,以了解波士顿学生家庭选择天主教学校的详细信息。

波士顿家庭为什么要考虑让孩子接受天主教学校教育?

FOLAN :天主教学校提供严格的学术课程、创新的教学方法、亲身实践的学习机会,以及改变学生心灵的精神信仰。

CASSIDY:各个年级都有严格的学术课程,较小的班级规模使学生有更多的机会,让老师能够更频繁地单独与他们互动。以信仰为基础的教育还可以使孩子在学业进步的同时通过直接的讲解和参加弥撒更多地了解他们的信仰。

FAZEKAS:出于多种原因,波士顿家庭应考虑让其子女接受天主教学校教育。首先,历史上天主教学校提供了非常丰富的学术经验,这与天主教徒对信仰和理性的承诺相一致。在 Ursuline,100% 的学生被四年制大学录取,许多人进入美国最好的大学继续学习。其次,在根植于信仰的学校中,学生可以更深刻地理解人生的目的,并使他们充满正直的观念和克服人生障碍的勇气。第三,天主教学校的教学理念非常重视邻里关爱和天主教帮助他人的教义。在 Ursuline,我们通过实践学校的座右铭 Serviam 来实现这一教义。

请介绍您的学校。

FOLAN:Catholic Memorial 是一所开设 7 至 12 年级的男校。我们的学校让毕业生做好准备,面对这个充满未知挑战、模棱两可和复杂问题的世界。我们教我们的学生欣赏差异,批判性和创造性的思考,提出重要问题并保持清晰的沟通。 

我们的学生了解人际关系的价值,以同情心和同理心服务于所有社区。作为一所了解男孩的学校,我们崇尚亲身实践的学习方式,解决现实世界中的问题,提倡道德信念,并使学生充满信心面对真实的生活。

CASSIDY:Saint John School 位于北区中心,开设学前班至 8 年级。超过 126 年以来,我们为波士顿及其周边地区 25 个社区的家庭提供服务。我们是一所课程严谨,信仰与学术并重的学校。 

FAZEKAS: Ursuline Academy 学院是一所面向 7-12 年级女生的独立天主教学校,位于马萨诸塞州迪德姆,距离 West Roxbury 和 Roslindale 仅数分钟路程。我们全面的课程确保学生具备卓越的写作能力、具有说服力的演讲能力和具有分析性的思考能力;我们开设的大多数课程都达到或超过了荣誉级别。学生们身处充满了鼓励和信仰的环境,在老师的坚定支持下成长为具有正直风范的女性,带着使命和目的投身于社区活动。 

Ursuline 约有 380 名学生,规模足够大,足以对学生形成挑战性;但又足够小,让我们足以了解他们;而且其学费不到某些独立学校的一半,Ursuline 教育的价值远高于其成本。

如何申请波士顿天主教学校


学生必须是天主教徒才能上天主教学校吗?

FOLAN:我们学校一向欢迎来自不同宗教信仰背景的学生,加入天主教的知识教育传统。天主教的知识教育传统拥护信仰和理性,并在万物中追求真理。我们鼓励天主教学生在学校生活中及以后接受圣礼。 

通过我们的服务计划和社会公正的视角,天主教学校经常欢迎年轻人提出更大的关于信仰和天主教社会教学问题。当我们的学生与边缘化的社会成员相遇并直接互动时,他们的生活和世界观将得到拓宽,从而创造了培养真正的同情心和爱心的机会。这样,我们的学生将致力于倡导系统性变革,从而造福所有人。

天主教学校的申请和录取过程如何?

FOLAN:每所学校都有一定的程序,对每个学生的优势和个人成长领域进行更全面的了解。推荐、成绩、论文、面试和测验都是用于确定申请人适合度的组合评估的一部分。寻求更全面的理解对于家庭和学校都至关重要。 

CASSIDY:对申请感兴趣的家庭应访问我们的网站并下载应用程序。通常,大多数人在 10 月到 3 月之间申请。我们的学校不收取申请费。学生家庭完成申请后,将需要提供孩子的出生证明的复印件,所有以前的成绩单,包括标准化的测试数据。  

FAZEKAS:天主教学校的申请程序因学校而异。在 Ursuline,常规申请在秋季截止,但如果有剩余名额,则可以全年申请。我们使用名为 Ravenna 的系统作为招生门户。学生家庭建立并设置了申请帐户后,Ravenna 会指导您完成申请过程的每个步骤,包括提交入学考试成绩、学生和家长的陈述、成绩单以及安排招生人员的面试。Ursuline 的申请费为 $50 且可以免收费用。

学生进入天主教学校是否需要参加任何特殊考试或测试? 

FAZEKAS:每所天主教学校都有自己的入学考试要求。建议您访问各学校的网站,以确定需要进行哪些入学考试。考试要求也可能因年级而异。通常,可以通过各个测试公司进行实践测试。每项测试都有费用,且有所不同。费用可以减免,请联系您所申请的学校来获取。

天主教学校是否可以提供经济援助来支付学杂费?

FOLAN:每所学校都致力于提供经济援助,让任何人都有机会获得好的教育,而不论其支付能力如何。各学校都使用在线平台或流程来收集相关的财务文件(最重要的是纳税申报表),以全面了解家庭的财务状况。 

CASSIDY:学生必须已经在圣约翰学校 (Saint John School) 就读整整一年,其家庭才有资格申请经济援助。他们可以通过 FACTS 或天主教学校基金会申请援助。 

FAZEKAS:在 Ursuline,我们要求通过 FACTS.com 填写经济援助申请表。经济援助是根据经济需要分配的。为了填写经济援助申请表,家长需要提供 W2 和 1040 文件。

如果学生有 IEP,他们可以上天主教学校吗?

FOLAN:可以。天主教学校为各种学习风格的学生提供高水平的学习机会。尽管学校不一定能满足 IEP 的各个方面,但会在可能的情况下通过其教学计划努力提供合理的学习条件。

天主教学校是否提供英语学习者支持服务,例如保护沉浸式学习或单独指导?

英语学习者支持服务因学校而异;我们采访的三位领导者均建议您与每所学校联系,以了解他们提供的服务。

如何申请波士顿天主教学校


您是否必须住在天主教学校所在的城市、城镇或街区才能就读?

FOLAN:天主教学校具有丰富的地域多样性,这增加了其生源的深度。天主教学校能够为来自不同城镇的学生提供优质的教育机会,并以此为傲。就读天主教学校没有居住要求。

CASSIDY:St. John's 从波士顿市内及周边的 25 个社区中招生。

FAZEKAS:Ursuline Academy 的学生来自大约 50 个不同的城镇和社区。

天主教学校是否提供交通服务?

FAZEKAS:天主教学校通常提供特定地区的交通服务。其费用和可用性因学校而异。 

天主教学校如何应对 COVID-19 疫情?他们是否提供面对面、远程或混合学习模式?

FOLAN:从大流行病疫情开始,天主教学校一直致力于提供面对面、混合和远程的学习方式。作为一个网络,我们以最能满足学生及其家庭需求的敏捷度和适应力而自豪。我们在这种新的常态中应对自如,并将再次为下一个常态做好准备。 

CASSIDY:我们预计在 2021 年秋季之前保持现有的运作模式,以确保学校社区的安全。这些措施包括经常洗手、使用手部消毒液、保持社交距离和戴口罩。此外,所有患病的孩子必须待在家里并接受检测,所有学生必须在出国旅行后接受检测。我们为所有无法参加面对面学习或需要隔离的学生提供在线学习计划。

FAZEKAS:从 2021 年 1 月起,Ursuline 学院实行了一种混合教学模式,每学生们每周两天在校学习。学生也可以根据需要选择完全远程的模式。包括 Ursuline 在内的天主教学校完全遵循卫生当局关于 COVID 预防措施的建议。在校期间均要求佩戴口罩和保持社交距离,并且学生必须填写每日健康检查问卷。

如需了解本文中介绍的每所学校的更多信息,请访问下面的 School Profile(学校基本资料)页面:

有问题吗?

我们的专家将为您提供正确的信息,以便让您找到最好的学校

What Families Need to Know About Applying to Catholic Schools

What Families Need to Know About Applying to Catholic Schools

We spoke with Dr. Peter F. Folan, President of Catholic Memorial School; Claire Cassidy, Principal of Saint John School; and Elaine Fazekas, Director of Marketing and Communications at Ursuline Academy to learn more about what families should know about their Catholic school options in Boston.

Why might Boston families consider a Catholic school education for their child?

FOLAN: Catholic schools provide a rigorous academic program, innovative pedagogy, hands-on learning, and spiritual depth that transforms the hearts and minds of students.

CASSIDY: Strong rigorous academic curriculum throughout all grades, with smaller class sizes that allow a student more opportunities for teachers to engage with them individually and more often. Faith-based education also allows a child to grow academically and understand more about their Faith through direct instruction and attending Mass.

FAZEKAS: Boston families should consider a Catholic school education for their child for a number of reasons.  First, Catholic schools have historically offered a very strong academic experience consistent with the Catholic commitment to faith and reason.  At Ursuline, 100% of our students are accepted at four-year colleges, with many going on to attend the nation’s finest colleges and universities. Second, attending a school that is rooted in faith gives students a deeper appreciation of life’s purpose and imbues them with a sense of integrity and the courage to overcome life’s obstacles. Third,  the Catholic school philosophy places a premium on love for one’s neighbor and the Christian call to help others.  At Ursuline, we live out this call through the practice of Serviam, the school’s motto.

Tell us about your school.

FOLAN: Catholic Memorial is an all-boys school serving grades 7 through 12. Our school prepares its graduates for a world full of unknown challenges, ambiguity, and complex problems. We teach our students to appreciate difference, think critically and creatively, ask important questions, and communicate with clarity. 

Understanding the value of relationships, our students serve all communities with empathy and compassion. As a school that understands boys, we engage in hands-on learning, solve real world problems, promote moral conviction, and give them the confidence to live their authentic lives.

CASSIDY: Saint John School is a PreK through 8th grade school nestled in the heart of the North End. For over 126 years we have served families from over 25 communities in and around Boston. We are a school where Faith and Academic Excellence meet through a rigorous curriculum. 

FAZEKAS: Ursuline Academy is an independent Catholic school for young women in grades 7-12, located in Dedham, MA, just minutes from West Roxbury and Roslindale.  Our comprehensive curriculum ensures that students will emerge as strong writers, persuasive speakers, and analytical thinkers; most courses offered are at the honors level or above.  Steeped in an environment of encouragement and faith and with the unflagging support of their teachers, students emerge as women of integrity who engage in their communities with purpose and presence. 

With approximately 380 students, Ursuline is large enough to challenge students, yet small enough to know them—and with a tuition less than half that of some independent schools, an Ursuline education that is of far greater value than its cost.

How to Apply to Boston Catholic Schools


Do you have to be Catholic to attend a Catholic school?

FOLAN: Our schools have always, and continue to welcome students of all faith backgrounds into the Catholic intellectual tradition. The Catholic intellectual tradition embraces faith and reason and pursues truth in all things. Catholic students are encouraged to embrace the sacraments within their school life and beyond. 

Through our service initiatives and through a social justice lens, Catholic schools often welcome young people into larger questions of faith and Catholic social teaching. When our students encounter and engage directly with marginalized members of society their lives and world views are broadened creating opportunities to cultivate a truly compassionate and loving heart. In this way, our students are charged with advocating for systemic change for the greater good of all.

What is the Catholic schools application and admissions process like?

FOLAN: Each school engages in a process to gain a fuller understanding of each individual student's strengths and areas of individual growth. Recommendations, grades, essays, interviews, and testing are all part of the portfolio assessment used to determine an applicant's fit. Finding a complementary understanding is critical for both the family and the school. 

CASSIDY: Families interested in application should visit our website and download an application. Typically most people apply between October to March. There is no cost to apply to our school. Once families have completed their application they will need to provide a copy of their child's birth certificate, all previous academic transcripts, including standardized test data.  

FAZEKAS: The application process at Catholic schools varies by school.  At Ursuline, the regular application deadline is in the fall, but applications are considered year-round if space is available. We use a system called Ravenna as our admissions portal.  Once families create and set up their application account, Ravenna guides you through each step of the application process, from submitting entrance testing scores, statements from the student and a parent, transcripts, and arranging an interview with a member of the admissions staff. The Ursuline application fee is $50 and fee waivers are available.

Do students need to take any special tests or exams to get into a Catholic school? 

FAZEKAS: Each Catholic school has its own requirement for entrance testing.  It is advised that you visit each school’s website to determine what entrance test is required. The test requirement may also differ by grade level. Generally, practice tests are available from the various testing companies. Each test does have a fee which also varies.  Fee waivers are available and can be obtained by reaching out to the school to which you are applying.

Is financial aid available to cover Catholic school tuition and fees?

FOLAN: Every school works to provide financial opportunities and access to a great education regardless of one's ability to pay. Each school uses an online platform or process that gathers pertinent financial documents, most importantly tax returns that provide a full understanding of a family's financial capacity. 

CASSIDY: Families must have attended Saint John School for an entire year before they are eligible to apply for financial aid. They can apply for aid through FACTS or the Catholic Schools Foundation. 

FAZEKAS: At Ursuline, we require an application for financial aid to be filled out via FACTS.com. Financial aid is distributed based on financial need. In order to fill out an application for financial aid, parents would need to provide W2 and 1040 documents.

If a student has an IEP, can they attend a Catholic school?

FOLAN: Yes. Catholic schools provide high quality levels of academic engagement that embraces students with diverse learning styles. While schools are not bound to meet each aspect of an IEP they will strive to provide reasonable accommodations through their academic program whenever possible.

Do Catholic schools provide English-language learner support services, such as sheltered-immersion or separate instruction?

English language learner support services vary by school; all three leaders we spoke to recommended that you contact each school to find out what services they offer.

How to Apply to Boston Catholic Schools


Do you have to live in the city, town, or neighborhood where a Catholic school is located in order to attend that school?

FOLAN: Catholic schools have a rich geographical diversity which adds depth to the student body. Catholic schools pride themselves on providing opportunities for students from different towns to gain access to their superior academic program. There are no residency requirements needed to attend a Catholic school.

CASSIDY: At St. John’s, we draw from over 25 communities in and around the city of Boston.

FAZEKAS: At Ursuline Academy, our students come from approximately 50 different towns and communities.

Is transportation provided to Catholic schools?

FAZEKAS: Catholic schools usually offer transportation from specific areas.  The cost and availability varies from school to school. 

How have Catholic schools handled COVID-19? Do they offer in-person, remote, or hybrid learning models?

FOLAN: Catholic schools have led the way in providing in-person, hybrid, and remote learning from the start of the pandemic. As a network, we pride ourselves on being nimble and adaptive to best serve the needs of our students and their families. We executed on a high level in this new normal and will again execute for the next normal. 

CASSIDY: We anticipate that the practices we have in place at present, to keep our school community safe will be in place for Fall 2021. These include frequent hand washing, using hand sanitizer, social distancing and mask wearing. Additionally, all children who are sick must stay home and get tested and all children must get tested following out of state travel.  We have an eLearning program available for all students who cannot participate in  in-person learning or who need to quarantine.

FAZEKAS: As of January 2021, Ursuline Academy is offering a hybrid instruction model, with students in school two days a week.  Students can opt into a fully remote model should they need to do so.  Catholic schools, including Ursuline, are following the recommendations of health authorities in terms of COVID protocols. Masking and social distancing are enforced throughout the school day, and students must complete a daily health check questionnaire.

To learn more about each of these schools featured in this post, visit their School Profile pages below:

Have a Question?

Our experts will provide you with the right information to find the best school